fresh starts

Okay, I have seriously missed writing in this blog badly even though it’s only been a few days. I love that this makes me so happy! It’s been an interesting few days so if you don’t like LENGTHY posts, you should probably read this anyways 😉 I left off on Thursday, where after a morning sprint session, tons of strength training, and my usual 4.5 miles of walking, I went to a yoga class with Caitlin at our gym. It was my first ever yoga class, and I liked it a lot! I can see how it will help my running and be an overall great addition to my work outs. After, I did 15 minutes on the elliptical and headed home for dinner. I don’t have a picture, but I made a piece of whole wheat toast spread with goat cheese and topped it with an egg white/mushroom/chicken omelet and ketchup. Beyond random, and beyond delicious. I was craving every single one of those things and together they were better than I imagined! Friday I woke up and got ready for work and realized how tired and horrible I felt. It was a mixture of my stomach being upset, exhaustion, stress, and depression. I called into work and tried to rest for the day, but I couldn’t sleep and have had trouble sleeping the last couple of weeks. Again, it’s a mixture of exhaustion, stress and depression. I don’t feel this way all day, but I get my spurts where I feel hopeless. I just really want to have a job that I love, doing what I love. I want to work with/around health and fitness and help people achieve their weight loss goals, and also continue writing. I know that I’m only 23 and having a job you love at this age is usually unheard of, but I don’t take no for an answer 🙂 So I’m getting rid of the negative attitude and gaining control because that’s what you HAVE to do when you feel this way. Also, a weekend full of drinking and eating WHATEVER I wanted helped to throw me right back on track this Monday morning! I shouldn’t have cravings for the next year after fulfilling ALL of them this weekend 😉 Speaking of this weekend, I had a great one!

After moping around Friday and feeling sick, I got a ton of sleep and woke up Saturday to meet Caitlin for brunch at Galaxy Diner in Hell’s Kitchen, aka around the corner from her apartment. We both got the $3.50 2-egg special. Seriously, I don’t even think you can get a $3.50 breakfast upstate. I got 2 scrambled eggs with pepper jack cheese, delicious home fries, and 7 grain toast. We sat outside and it was pretty much the most perfect fall day… sunny, breezy, about 65 degrees. I was channeling my inner celebrity with my fake fur vest and huge sunnies, however I think most celebrities spend more than $3.50 on their breakfasts. We walked to the Hell’s Kitchen flea market and found some awesome deals, then I headed to the gym for a 2 mile run, elliptical & weights. I will admit that I watched an episode of Jersey Shore for the first time ever while on the elliptical, and could not stop laughing. I’m embarrassed! I met up with John for a later lunch and coffee date, even though we had a dinner date planned. We are fat and in love, what can I say? Lunch was at The Diner in the Meatpacking District, and it’s one of my favorite spots. I got the house made veggie burger on a grilled english muffin with sprouts and sweet potato fries.

We walked to Greenwich Ave to get coffee at the Roasting Plant. John had heard they have the city’s best chocolate chip cookies, so he got one and I got a PUMPKIN BISCOTTI! It was perfect; not too sweet and went great with my americano.

Awhile later, we got ready for dinner. I made a pit stop at Trader Joe’s wine shop and got 3 bottles for the festivities at Caitlin’s later that night. I got a pinot grigio, white zin, and “green fin” which was super good. God bless Trader Joe’s and being able to buy 3 bottles of wine for $10. Dinner was at Keste Pizza on Bleecker St. It’s official… we have found our favorite pizza in New York City FINALLY! See, John and I are the complete opposite of each other in every aspect of life, including food. Pizza is the one food we are both super in love with. After being spoiled with delicious pizza upstate all of our lives, it has been weak competition in NYC which I know is surprising. Keste serves personal size pizzas which is lovely to be able to order a few and share. I had just the margharita pizza and John had one with sausage, so no sharing was needed 🙂 The crust was perfection, just crispy enough but still dough-y. You could taste every fresh ingredient of extra virgin olive oil, basil, and mozzarella. The size was perfect and pretty much equaled 2 slices of normal sized pizza.

Pizza should have been the perfect buffer to get me not so drunk, but I guess not so much. We drank a ton of wine with Caitlin’s roommate and her friend that was visiting, and I love them both! We headed to Industry Bar, and it was just what I needed. Nothing better than drunk dancing with a bunch of gay men. It’s literally my favorite activity other than eating 😉 I hadn’t been out dancing in forever, and I had such a blast! I get the drunk munchies so badly and obviously since I’m drunk I don’t care what I’m eating. I had two HUGE slices of pizza after the bar, because apparently scarfing a pizza BEFORE drinking wasn’t enough. It was about 5 AM when we got back, so I walked to the subway and took myself home. Here are some pictures of our sloppiness fabulous-ness:

I slept until 11:30 AM, which is reason #5405894 I hate drinking. I had a great reason to wake up though, because I was meeting my [insert every word that means a person is AMAZING/inspiring/awesome] cousin for brunch! This was only the second time we were meeting since discovering each other exists and having brunch one other time. I’m so lucky to have the family members that I do. In the two times we have met up, I leave feeling SO inspired and positive! It doesn’t hurt that he lives in the fabulous neighborhood of Bowery Street, where inspiration fills the streets unlike any other part of NYC. He took me to a Cuban restaurant for brunch, Cafe Cortadito, which was my first Cuban restaurant and completely fabulous. I went with the Holgin, which was a croissant split in half, grilled and topped with a slice of seared ham and a poached egg. Delicious.

Oh, and let’s not forget the mimosa because I obviously NEEDED more alcohol. Of course, I left feeling inspired and that I could leave behind my awful week prior and start fresh!

I do my grocery shopping on Sundays at Trader Joe’s, and they finally have pumpkin butter! I had a sandwich thin with crunchy peanut butter and a banana on one side, and pumpkin butter on the other. To be honest, I’ve had better pumpkin butter. This is a good thing, so I will not be eating the whole jar in one sitting! I got into bed at 9 PM, so unheard of in my life. I woke up a few times in the night, but other than that I had a good solid night of sleep until 6:30 this morning. I skipped a morning workout and am planning on going to a kickboxing class tonight that I haven’t been to in awhile. It’s fun, so I’m not dreading it!

Got right back on track this morning with a super healthy and delicious breakfast. I live my life just to eat breakfast foods. In today’s bowl: 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/4 cup wheat bran, 3 egg whites, splash of almond milk, cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice, a sliced Gala apple, sugar free syrup, and topped with crunchy peanut butter. Pumpkin coffee with skim and splenda, obvs.

Filled me up til lunch at 1. Super simple, delicious and filling. Whole wheat sandwich thin with a Trader Joe’s chili lime chicken burger w/ mustard, bag of carrots with chipotle hummus. I ate at Starbucks and got a big coffee with skim to bring back to the office.

My healthy snack before kickboxing is going to be greek yogurt with frozen blueberries and my newest obsession: PB2! I had to order this from Amazon, and I got just regular peanut butter and chocolate peanut butter. 45 calories for 2 tablespoons, tastes JUST like peanut butter, can be used in so many different ways… and there is no artificial anything in it. It’s basically just peanut butter powder. I needed it after I have been eating my weight in peanut butter, and I don’t need THAT much healthy fat 😉 It’s helping me to only eat my glob of peanut butter in the morning on my oatmeal, because there is no substitute for that! But PB2 mixes AMAZINGLY in greek yogurt! Currently, I’m about to eat 1/4 of a pumpkin pie cupcake that one of my co-workers saved for me. Getting back on track to me means where I finally got a few weeks ago. Having 3 bites of a cupcake from an amazing bakery in NYC that a co-worker specifically brought to share with you is something I couldn’t have done a few months ago. I would have panicked. But I know that it’s about 100 calories, it’s worth it because it’s pumpkin, and it is special because someone who knows I love pumpkin thought of me and brought it to share. Plus, more fuel for kickboxing!

 One more quick thing: Happy 24th Anniversary to my wonderful parents! It’s not common to have parents who are still married these days, and they have shown me that marriage or any relationship in life takes work, but will work if it’s right! Love you mom and dad! 🙂

6 thoughts on “fresh starts”

  1. Girrrrl, only rachel zoe wears fur vests, large sunnies & spends more than $3.50 on her breakfast. We on the other hand, wear fur vests, large sunnies & don’t mind being skimpy 🙂 ❤ ❤ & i hate you for dancing with gay me without muahhh!

Leave a Reply

