Amazing weekend + mini goals

This weekend was amazing. Amazing enough to make the prior miserable 5 day week seem worth it! Friday I went on a 3.5 mile run on my lunch break. It was super windy and cold, but the run felt good. After some work stuff, Caitlin and I went to 5 Napkin Burger which is definitely one of my top favorite NYC restaurants. I had the veggie burger with lettuce instead of the bun and sweet potato fries. Caitlin also had the veggie burger and fries, and a skinny berry cosmo cause she’s fabulous like that! She also rocks a hat like no other πŸ™‚

We ended up walking around the city for 2 hours after dinner. 5th Avenue was gorgeous and we looked at the upscale stores that have their windows decorated for the holiday season. My favorite by far was Henri Bendel’s. How cool is that dancer?

John met up with me so we could go home together and that walk had me starving. It was too cold and late for frozen yogurt, so I settled on one of my favorite cereals; Barbara’s peanut butter puffins. Let’s just say the box was devoured by Saturday. It’s the last time I buy cereal for myself until I can learn some self control.

Saturday: we slept until NOON. I had plans of going to kickboxing, but since I had worked out hard every day since last Sunday, I put my phone on silent and let my body wake up naturally. Apparently I needed almost 11 hours of sleep! We got ready and headed to breakfast at 2 PM. Manchester Diner on the Upper West Side, close to the park so we could walk after. I had a broccoli and cheddar omelet with home fries and whole wheat toast. I.love.carbs.


We walked around the park, the Upper West Side, and around Columbus Circle. I got some winter running shirts at TJ Maxx, and decided to try on a size 4 jeans just to see if I had gained the 67 pounds I feel like I have. The jeans fit just as they have for the last almost year that I’ve been a size 2/4. Where is the motivation to stop eating carbs like it’s my job? I think my metabolism is faster finally, which would be pretty sad if it hadn’t sped up considering I work out a TON and eat healthy 90% of the time. Anyways, I felt great and my motivation to cut back on sugar and start eating clean again is there just because I want to feel as amazing as I did when I was eating like that.

We ended up in Soho on a Saturday night. John’s lucky that he’s cute and bribed me with a date to Harney & Son’s (an adorable tea place) for apple cinnamon tea and an Earl Grey flavored ice cream cone! πŸ™‚

Plan on spending 3x the amount of time you wanted to in Soho because of the people who walk slower than I thought possible. My phone died and we were supposed to make pizza at Caitlin’s, but by the time I got home I knew I needed to get sleep and prepare for my longest run thus far Sunday morning. I don’t remember the last time I felt that nervous. I wasn’t very hungry (you know there’s something wrong) and felt a little sick to my stomach! It took me forever to fall asleep, and before I knew it it was 6:30 AM and I was getting ready to meet with a running group.

I was too nervous to eat anything especially since my stomach is super sensitive and I can’t run if I’ve eaten within like 4 hours. I decided to just go, since I had eaten enough cereal, toast, and an ice cream cone and should have had plenty of glycogen stored up πŸ™‚ I got to Jack Rabbit Sports store and met up with the run leader and two other girls, both of which ran the marathon last weekend. To say I was terrified would be an understatement. I was proud of myself at that point for even showing up though! The run leader said we would run about 7 miles, and I figured since I do at least one 5 mile run per week I’d be fine. But that 5 mile run is done on a treadmill, and outside (especially hilly Central Park!) was going to be a challenge.

We started running as soon as we got outside of the store, and the first couple of miles were extremely difficult. When I run outside, the first few miles leave my legs feeling like lead and my muscles extremely tight. I generally warm up with 1 mile, stretch, run another mile, stretch again, and then I’m fine. There was NO stopping with these girls. The first time I looked at our mileage we had already gone 3.75 miles and I knew I’d be fine. Spending over an hour running and talking was so much fun and I ended up being able to keep up with them the entire run! We ended up running 7.69 miles with a 9:44/mile pace! We did some stretching and I walked from 72nd st to my gym on 53rd to shower. I ended up being a crazy person and hopped on the elliptical because I had crazy endorphins running through my body! I showered quickly and practically ran to the nearest bagel place to refuel. It might have been because I just ran almost 8 miles, but it was the best bagel sandwich I’ve ever had in my life. Whole wheat everything bagel with egg, bacon, cheese and onion. Hazelnut coffee with skim on the side.

De-lish. I spent the rest of the day walking all over the city and met up with Brenda and Rob for dinner. For some reason that bagel held me over all day and I wasn’t remotely hungry, which seemed strange after the longest run of my life. Brenda is lucky that this was the case, because the place she picked serves food in portions meant for newborns. We got a free appetizer for checking in on FourSquare (it pays to be cool, i guess) which were dates wrapped in bacon. One of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten.

My “meal” was quail eggs on toast. I knew quail eggs were tiny, but I thought the toast would actually be… toast. These were bite size.

Rob was so hungry after that he stopped and got pizza.

I love them, even though Brenda is clearly trying to starve me. Β I had a delicious snack when I got home. Whole wheat sandwich thin toasted with 1 side of goat cheese & reduced sugar strawberry jam, the other side peanut butter, banana slices and a dab of the jam.

It was a good way to end the weekend and start my “no-sugar added” clean eats. I’ve never been a big sugar person, but lately I’ve been craving frozen yogurt, jam, cereal, etc like it’s going out of style. I am detoxing myself of that, because I feel like crap!

This doesn’t mean I’m giving up these foods forever.Β I will still always eat pizza, sweet potato fries and frozen yogurt for the rest of my life. That’s what weekends and long runs are for πŸ™‚

Mini goals for this week:

  • Start 30 Day Shred and run 3-4 times.
  • Get a good chunk of homework done
  • Apply to more jobs
  • Eat super clean, no sugar-added foods, more veggies. Admit any slip-ups!
  • Bed by 10:30 at the latest
What are your mini-goals for the week?
2 thoughts on “Amazing weekend + mini goals”

  1. Those look like some great mini goals you have there. My mini goals for the week would be to hit the pool at least two times this week, get my wedding website 95% completed, and to finally finish the floral arrangements for my wedding.

    1. Thank you! I want to start swimming a few times a week for cross training with running. I have pool access at my gym, but could only go after work when I have NO motivation haha Plus, I really suck at swimming! It’s another thing I want to get good at because I used to really suck at running πŸ™‚ When is your wedding? That is so exciting and awesome that you have a website for it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

