First Race & Fatty Crabs

Sunday morning was my first ever race! I ran Race to Deliver which was 4 miles in Central Park. I believe it was the “inner loop” which is known for it’s rolling hills. Running 10 miles Saturday and doing 30 Day Shred (6868 squats) the day before was likely not my best move, but I just wanted to sub-40 and I was just excited to be running a race in NYC!

I woke up earlier than I needed to with a stomach ache from nerves (or possibly the frozen yogurt & cupcake dinner I had Saturday night) so I didn’t want even a small breakfast. I don’t eat before a run anyways, but I had a few hours to go before the race and probably should have had toast or a banana. John and I headed to 72nd & Central Park West and made our way to the registration area where I met up with Kristen, a woman I ran with last weekend in my first group run. We were in the same pace group but she is definitely speedier than me, and amazing since she ran the marathon less than a month ago!

We headed to the start and my nerves were pretty calm by this point. It was only 4 miles after all, but the shorter the distance the faster you’re supposed to run. Small distances scare me because I don’t get into my groove until about 3 miles. Anyway, we jogged for about 6 minutes before our feet actually hit the starting line. The first mile flew by and the hills weren’t too bad. I’m pretty sure we were subbing 9 minutes and it felt fine at first. Mile 2 seemed like it took forever to come, and halfway through a hill I lost Kristen. I kept running which was my goal, I just had to slow my pace and my hamstrings were on fire! It was hard with no music, but so many volunteers were cheering us on and finally we hit mile 3. This mile had hills in the beginning, but the rest was downhill and then flat. Seeing the finish line was awesome, and I was scanning the surprisingly small crowd looking for John but the sun was super bright. Then I heard him yell “Tallman!” right before the finish line and he was able to get a video of me! It definitely was the hardest 4 miles I’ve ever ran because of the hills, but finishing the day after my longest run felt amazing! I met up with Kristen who finished a few minutes ahead of me.

My official time was 37:50! PR for me since it’s my first race 🙂 We immediately jumped on the subway to get bagels at Pick-a-Bagel on 53rd & 8th, its one of my favorites.

Whole wheat everything bagel with bacon, egg, cheese and onion. Delicious Sunday indulgence.

John had to head into work so I did laundry and cleaned, then met up with Caitlin and Hunter for dinner at Blockheads. Bowl after bowl of salty chips and salsa, and a grilled chicken wrap with salad. Mmmmm

We walked to the Upper West Side to make a necessary 16 Handles stop. More pumpkin froyo because it’s probably the last time it will be available til next year! Pumpkin should be a year round flavor, just sayin.

We overate until we were all mutually sick and felt obese. We walked around for awhile laughing at how huge we felt, and dubbed ourselves “Fatty Crabs” after passing a restaurant with the name. I said I wanted no part of anything sugary or food related until Thanksgiving, but that was Sunday and somehow I still ate Monday and yesterday… naturally.

On the workout front however, I have been L A Z Y this week. I think those 14 miles this weekend really kicked my butt because I’ve been a walking zombie. There literally isn’t a day in my life in the last 6 months where I haven’t at least walked almost 5 miles, on top of running most days and strength training and when I was really crazy, adding kickboxing, zumba and swimming. I did want to work out EXTRA this week seeing as how it’s Thanksgiving week, but honestly I am burnt.out. I can always tell when it’s me being lazy or when I’m just fried, and I am really fried. Walking even feels like a chore right now, but at least I still got in my almost 5 miles of walking each day this week. I have high hopes of running tomorrow morning before the festivities start, but it’s the biggest night of the year to go out and Brenda and I are hardly ever home together, so I suppose tonight will consist of many bottles of wine, dancing in our old bars and catching up with old friends. It only happens once a year, so really I need to take a chill pill on possibly not being able to work out tomorrow. You only live once!
I love the idea of coming back from my mini vacation and having a new work out plan. I’m going to be trying a guest pass at Gold’s Gym so I can try out spinning and BODY PUMP! I had said last week I was feeling  ready for two-a-days again, and I definitely am. I actually think this little break is just what I need to get motivated to be a machine again. I’d like to feel confident again by New Years. Totally doable 🙂

I’m out of work early today to leave for upstate, and since I slept in and didn’t hit the gym this morning, I had time to make delicious protein pancakes. I topped them with Biscoff spread (do yourself a favor and don’t even buy this… it’s the only food you’ll ever want to eat again in your life) and sugar free pancake syrup. So. Good.

I will be blogging from upstate, but I hope you all have a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving! It came so fast this year, and doesn’t even feel like that time of the year. I guess because it’s my first holiday season not living in my hometown. So bittersweet! I leave you with a few inspiring, beautiful pictures.
4 thoughts on “First Race & Fatty Crabs”

Leave a Reply

