Thanksgiving & Back On Track

Somehow Thanksgiving has come and gone since I last blogged. This year is flying by, along with life in general. Ahh… Wednesday night I got into Binghamton, drank wine, went out with Brenda and Lisa and realized why I no longer live in Binghamton. No need to even go on from there.

 I also got a call Wednesday while I was on the bus that I have been offered a position that is more or less a dream job for me. I have many dreams, and working in the fashion industry has always been one of them. I put in my 2 weeks notice today at my current job, and I will be starting my new job in 2 weeks. I’m not ready to post where it is on here because I like to keep work separate from my blog (unless one day it IS my job! another dream…). I am incredibly excited and nervous, but I think this is the pick-up I’ve needed.

 Thanksgiving I wanted to run and didn’t even have a hangover. But once I got cooking and spending time with my grandma, running went out the window and I am completely fine with that. I went through a period where I would have chosen exercise over everything, but no more. My grandma is such a wonderful person, being around her is actually difficult now that I have moved away because I wish I could spend every single moment with her. She is beautiful inside and out, and such a fighter.

I was in charge of making a healthy version of buffalo chicken wing dip, green bean casserole and pumpkin chocolate chip muffins.

Cheeeeese.

 

I had to test one! 🙂

Those are the pumpkin muffins that only require 1 can of pumpkin, 1 box of spice or carrot cake mix, and 2 egg whites. I added chocolate chips, and they actually took away from how good the muffins taste without them.

I definitely took about 3 naps in between numerous amounts of plates and then my mom had the nerve to break out one of my favorite snacks- white chocolate covered chex mix with pretzels and m&m’s. She calls it “white trash” and it is soooo good, but sooo bad. I felt enormous when I went to bed. I also slept horribly which I’m sure is due to the sugar coma I was in.

Friday morning I couldn’t wake up no matter how hard my dad was trying, so I missed the gym. I took my mom to an appointment and ran about 1.25 miles during it. When I got back to my parents, I went on a painfully slow and painful in general 5.05 mile run with a TON of hills. All that food from Thanksgiving had apparently not digested because my stomach hurt the entire time. Even though I was super slow, my heart rate monitor showed that I burned even more than I would have on a fast 5 miler, and it’s because the hills I did are insane. At least I finished 6.3 miles for the day. After my run I went to get my hair cut and colored and had a fabulous time as always. I absolutely LOVE my hair stylist and look forward to seeing her every time I need a touch up. I am super blonde now, and some natural red pulled through which looks so fun.

I also met up with my friend Alyse for coffee and to share my good news with her, and she brought me my favorite dry shampoo (she is a saint!) and a PUMPKIN CHEESECAKE BROWNIE. I was trying to get back on track that day, but there was no way to pass that up. It was worth every bite. Girls got some baking talent!

The rest of the weekend was spent eating more, very little running, and venturing back to NYC. John and I slept until 11 am Sunday which I hate, but I obviously needed it after a grueling mini-vacation doing nothing but… eating. I have definitely gained a few pounds and am more than ready to watch them fall off this month! I’m not concerned with any numbers, just want to feel confident again! That started today. Yesterday I still had fun eating 🙂

John and I shared a carrot pecan muffin and a spiced apple almond muffin walking along the Upper West Side. They were small and delicious. Small enough that we both got bagel sandwiches after, because it’s Sunday and Sunday’s are for bagels. We tried a new place, Bagel Talk, and I was happy to see they offer egg whites and turkey bacon. I had that with cheese on a pumpernickel bagel. But, they don’t toast their bagels. They WON’T. I do not like un-toasted bread, so I probably won’t be coming back. At least it was healthy-ish.

It was so nice to spend the whole day with him after being away for a few days. I love him more everyday, and it’s been almost 6 years! We did lots of walking and grocery shopping throughout the day, then we got ready to go to dinner with Caitlin and her friend Bev. 5 Napkin Burger as usual because Bev had never been… we love to take people there! It’s amazing. My outfit was fun:

A veggie burger on a salad with sweet potato fries capped off the long weekend. This morning I was more than ready to get back on track! I ran 4 miles through midtown and although my legs felt really heavy, I averaged 8:58 minute miles! After the walk to work, I had my beloved protein oats with a banana and peanut butter, which took me until noon to finish due to being busy. I tanned on my lunch break then had a salad at my desk which included a whole wheat wrap, spinach, egg whites, cucumbers, horseradish hummus and mustard. I also had a Think Thin peanut butter protein bar which was good, but had that slight protein after taste. My snack on the way across the bridge will be a greek yogurt and a small apple. I am planning to go to my first spin class tonight so I can get back into some 2-a-day’s to tone up fast! My legs are killing me right now, but hopefully the walk home will loosen them up. Tomorrow is back to back Jillian Michaels workouts in the morning and probably a lunch break run. Ready to get crazy again, I hope! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving & Back On Track”

  1. Your hair looks soo pretty! I am so looking forward to going home in a few weeks so I can get mine done! Also, congrats on the new job! What a great way to kick off the holiday season. Are you going to be working in the city? I bet you feel bittersweet about giving up your 4mile daily walk!

    xo

    1. I love hair appointments! So refreshing 🙂 Thank you so much! I will tell you on Facebook where I’m going to be working! It is definitely in the city, finally! I will miss that walk, and only that walk! haha But the time saved on commuting means I can take classes again at night, so I can finally try spinning!

  2. I am just catching up on your blog now, but thanks for the shout out! So proud and happy for you. Although I won’t be living just down the block, hopefully I still won’t be far once I find a place! ❤ Can't wait to see you in like TWO WEEKS!

Leave a Reply

