Food Rut

Food is one thing I do not get bored with. I eat protein oats (sometimes made into pancakes) with a banana and peanut butter every morning except Sundays (my bagel day) and look forward to it all of those days. Give me greens, sweet potatoes, goat or feta cheese, fish or chicken and some mustard and I can create lunch and dinner. Greek yogurt, apples, protein bars, nuts, veggies and hummus more than satisfy me for snacks. So even though my ingredients don’t often change, I love my eats and find someway to spruce them up here and there. You may call it a food rut, but I call it food happiness. I am obsessed with vegetables.

Lunch yesterday:

Beets, feta, egg white, red pepper
Chicken, mushrooms, spinach, sweet potato & mustard
Starbucks Americano (perfection) & Kind bar for snack

My dinner last night was epic. I had John grill me a fillet of ahi tuna before I got home and I loved how it was really plain tasting but also really delicious. I piled it on spinach, sweet potato, goat cheese, garlic powder & a lovely little dressing I whipped up.

Balsamic vinegar, whole grain dijon mustard, spoonful of honey. Breathtaking.

I sliced up some cucumber and put the  rest of the ahi tuna pieces on top with some balsamic. To me, it looks like little pieces of sushi and I felt like a chef. To you, it probably looks like tuna on cucumbers with balsamic dumped on a plate. Agree to disagree.

This is why I someday want to work with people trying to live a healthy lifestyle. Had I known I could create delicious, filling, healthy meals like this? I would have given up McDonald’s long before 2 years ago. Healthy eating is DELISH.

I also came home to a friendly little package from Brooks Run Happy University.

Bag, Running fuel (which I have yet to use!), ear buds, and chafing prevention tools. I also have never had chafing, so i must be a beginning runner? Anyways, this made me super happy after (another) stressful day. I only have one pair of Brooks and they are pretty hardcore. I get compliments on them everywhere. They are downright badass.

I’m still getting used to them as they are very minimalist and I feel my shins and calves working super hard when I run in them. But leopard print sneakers that also say speed demon on them? I’m a badass.

After dinner, John and I went to the laundry mat. It was a wild hump day. Ahi tuna and laundry. We are still in our honeymoon face, obviously 😉 When we got back, it had been a whole 2 hours since I ate so bedtime food was needed. I have no shame in how much I can wolf down.

Into my new GNC blender/juicer combo (AMAZING BLACK FRIDAY DEAL!) went:

– 1/2 cup pumpkin

– 1/2 banana

– 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

– 1/2 scoop banana protein powder

– cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice

– ice cubes

Topped with… peanut butter. Yum yum yum. Pretty stoked that I have a blender that can blend ice now. I can’t wait to try out the juicer part!

Do you get stuck in food ruts? Do they bore you or do you love it?

I just really like routine, even when it comes to food. I won’t eat a bagel or even crave one unless it’s a Sunday. Weirdo.

Do you have any vegetable/fruit juice recipes I should try?

I know I want to try some carrot/ beet blends! Help a girl out 🙂

3 thoughts on “Food Rut”

  1. I really enjoy my merrell minimalist shoes. I hate having to shod my feet but I also don’t know what gooey grossness could be lurking on the sidewalks. Those Brooks are totally badass! And I feel you on the food thing. The one meal I can’t be stagnant on is dinner. I can however eat peanut butter toast every single day. Do you enjoy sashimi? I love sashimi dipped in a tamari and wasabi sauce. Yum!

  2. I’m like that with lunch actually… i can have the same breakfast and dinner most of the time, but i get bored with the same lunch after 2 days of it! i’ve never tried sashimi but i’m sure i’d like it, i’m not picky at all! i really dont eat sushi only because it doesnt fill me up at all for how little you get and how pricey it is!

Leave a Reply

