Get Your Shit Together

This week has been very odd for me.

Even though the last few months I haven’t been eating 100% clean and healthy, my workouts have still been on fire. Running, spinning, shredding, etc have been on my schedule at least 6 days per week. Even when I felt down and tired, I didn’t neglect having a crazy sweat session every morning (and some nights). This week was different.

I worked out monday and wednesday. That’s it. 4 miles of running and 2 spin classes. For me, that is pathetic. However, I literally did not hear my alarm go off those other days until I needed to have my ass in the shower and leaving for work. That, to me, is a sign that my body needed that full 7-8 hours of sleep badly. I actually felt alive and well each day and looked so forward to my bed every night. Usually, I am stressed out all day and have been dreading a second work out most nights. I don’t want that to be the case as right now I am trying to lose the 15 pounds I’ve gained and the last thing I need to feel is burnt out on exercise! This break and catching up on sleep was for the best, so I can go into this next week with fresh legs, and get ready to get sore again!

I have created a plan for myself for workouts and rest days that I am going to try to stick to as much as I possibly can. On top of this, I am going to start photographing my eats again because that really kept me accountable. That might also help me spruce things up in the kitchen since I’ve been a little boring on that front lately.

My boss wants me to run 8 miles with her tomorrow morning and I am scared shitless. I haven’t ran more than 5 miles in about 2 months. But I keep telling myself, it’s only 3 miles more so it’s really not that big of a deal. The only thing is it’s going to be 20 degrees. I have lots of winter running clothes, but I have been scared to put them to the test. I guess this is my chance! So. Nervous. That will kick off my new workout plan though! It will look a little something like this:

  • Sundays: long run (7-10 miles)
  • Mondays: strength train + spin
  • Tuesdays: strength train + 5 miles
  • Wednesdays: strengh train + HIIT (3-4 miles)+ optional spin
  • Thursdays: spin or rest
  • Fridays: strength train + 5 miles
  • Saturdays: Rest or short run/yoga

I am going to update more frequently and hold myself accountable again so I can shed this weight and tone up! My birthday is March 29th and I am going to look AMAZING! The difference this time around: I will appreciate and respect my body instead of constantly thinking I’m not thin enough and not eating. I was the smallest I could have ever imagined being not to mention toned up and I was always putting myself down and cycling between practically starving myself and binging. Not this time! This is the most depressing time of year and I have definitely been feeling it, but I am in control of how I feel and I am going to stop feeling down and get my shit together. Simply put, that’s what it’s all about.

How do you “get your shit together” when you know you need an ass kicking?

2 thoughts on “Get Your Shit Together”

  1. I’m really glad that you are blogging about your weight loss. I am changing my ways of eating and I am about to start going back to the gym soon. Please keep blogging, it’s helping me out! What did you to begin you weight loss journey? What are some of your favorite recipes and healthy eating tips?

    1. In the very beginning of my weight loss back in summer 2009, i just started walking a lotttt because i hated exercise soo much but walking never felt like exercise. Then I started eating half of things i was eating, adding more fruit and veggies, no more soda, switching to whole grains, eventually eliminating all fast food. I was walking probably 10 miles most days and eating very healthy, measuring/portion control, and then joining myfitnesspal.com to log all my food and exercise, which i still use to this day. I dont really have a lot of recipes as i dont really “cook” haha i eat the same things most days, but i have gained about 10-15 pounds since september cause i keep eating late at night sometimes after i have gone to bed! its a really bad habit and i am starting to break it because i def dont need to gain weight. I got a little too thin over the summer so i meant to gain 5 pounds back, but it ended up going a little over that 🙂 But it happens! It can come back off just as any amount you feel you need to lose.

Leave a Reply

