I’m Back!

My grandma passed away Thursday Feb 16th. I had came back to NYC Wednesday night to work Thursday-Saturday after missing a week, but life came in and knocked the wind out of us. I still worked til Saturday, for distraction and because I felt stronger than I ever imagined I would in that situation… She went so peacefully and I got to see and talk to her for the whole week + 1/2 she was in the hospital, so I am beyond blessed for that. Now that her viewing hours are behind us, we still have to wait until April/May to bury her because her gravesite is closed for the winter. Not sure if that is going to make me hold off on dealing with this, but I’m trying my best to allow myself to get upset when I need to. It hasn’t hit me yet completely, but maybe that’s how grief goes. I have never lost anyone I was close to. In this time, I am so thankful that I have such a wonderful, close family. While the last week was of course devastating, we shared more laughs and stories than any other time I can remember. It was exactly the way my grandma would have wanted.

Anywho, I am back on track and back to blogging. It’s no surprise this month has lacked in exercising and eating right/eating enough. I haven’t lost any weight, just muscle which means I am burning less at rest which means I need to get my ass in gear. I feel pretty flabby and soft. Obviously this wasn’t even on my train of thought this month, but now that I have to move on with my life, I have to address it.

I jumped back in today after finally signing up for the Binghamton Half Marathon on May 6th! I finally have a training plan that I created and something to work towards. I started the day with Caitlin at the gym, dying through level 3 of 30DS. I had never done level 3 out of pure fear, but it’s awesome! Then I ran the 3 miles on my training plan. It was windy and I had to stop 686 times because my headphones kept falling out and ripping my phone out of my pocket! But, I ran the 3 miles in about 26 minutes. Not bad at all for almost a month off!

I’ve been back in NYC for almost a week now, so here are some pictures of what I’ve been eating plus 2 fun new recipes!

butternut squash with goat cheese and sliced avocado
whole wheat toast w/ raspberry jam, soy cheese, and fried egg (SO GOOD!)
stir-fried veggies with cheese and wine at Caitlin's!
crab cake on bed of lettuce, tomato, onion and pickles + curly fries w/ honey mustard
Nutella, banana and coconut crepe from Chelsea Market ❤ ❤
favorite Thai/Asian fusion restaurant, Qi
coconut crusted calamari with sweet chili sauce
mixed greens salad with tofu, crushed peanuts and peanut sauce (didn't like this sadly!)
pineapple chicken fried brown rice with veggies & raisins.. DELISH

I’m loving this blog I found a few weeks ago called PowerCakes. She has amazing and creative healthy recipes that are focused on protein which I love! I subbed a few things but here is my adapted recipe for a chocolate powercake.

  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 tablespoon protein powder
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 mashed ripe banana (I subbed this for the 1/4 cup pumpkin she had because I have no pumpkin sadly)
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup plus little more unsweetened vanilla almond milk (hers called for coconut milk.. any milk will do!)
  • 2 packets splenda or choice sweetener
  • Cinnamon/ any extract you want to use

Mix all together in a big microwave safe bowl (the bigger the better, this thing fluffs because of the egg whites!). I microwaved on and off for about 8 minutes. I just kept checking the bowl to make sure it wasn’t going to rise over the bowl, every few minutes I would check it and it was taking the shape of a cake! I took it out and scooped it out into a smaller bowl that it JUST fit into. The bottom of the cake was just a tad bit undercooked, but it was perfect that way for me. I topped with mine with a thin layer of peanut butter & drizzle of honey. This was the bomb.com (please don’t unsubscribe from my blog because I just used that phrase) and I was crazy full. I could have split this in half and had the other as a snack, but I generally don’t listen to the message from my stomach telling my brain that it’s too full to keep eating. Woops. The whole cake is right around 300 calories and it’s HUGE!

Tonight I made another one of her recipes; cheesy tunacakes. In the mix:

  • 1 can tuna
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 Laughing Cow garlic & herb wedge
  • 1 egg white
  • Garlic powder

Mix all together, spray frying pan with cooking spray, scoop mix into 3 small patties. Cook on each side until brown.

They come out looking like crab cakes, and they are super good. I served mine up with edamame, steamed broccoli, and a blob of hummus with mustard.

I wasn’t hungry for my afternoon snack at work, so I popped it in the freezer when I got home to eat after dinner. It’s plain greek yogurt, frozen strawberries, unsweetened cocoa powder, and chia seeds. The consistency after being in the freezer for awhile is a lot like froyo! Yay 🙂

Life is slowly getting back to normal, but there is a definite void in my heart from my grandma passing away. I miss her so much, yet at the same time it feels like she isn’t really gone. Taking it day by day is all you can really do.

Leave a Reply

