Blah & Bananas

Blah. To some up how I have felt this week, it would be a big old blah. My birthday weekend was a ton of fun, but 3 nights and 1 day of drinking has left my whole routine messed up and I can feel myself getting sick. As much as I wish I could hang and party even a moderate amount, it really makes me feel awful. I wanted to wake up Monday and get in a good workout, but sleep won. I needed sleep, so I was fine and was going to go to spin class because I never miss my favorite Monday night class! Well, after work I felt awful and just wanted to eat and sleep. I could barely eat I was so tired, combined with allergies and getting sick from all the alcohol and lack of sleep, I felt like death.

Tuesday morning I got in a good 3.1 miles on the treadmill, slow but pain free, and a sweaty strength circuit. It felt great! Yesterday there was no workout in my day, nor today, but I did make a killer protein banana bread. You have to try this recipe! In the mix:

  • 2 scoops protein powder
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (if you can’t find, you would just throw 1/2 cup oats in a food processor and blend until made into a flour)
  • 4 tbsp coconut flour
  • 3-4 mashed, RIPE bananas
  • 1 tbsp applesauce (in place of oil!)
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (divided)
  • 1 packet splenda

Pre-heat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients in a big bowl, leaving 1/8 of the rolled oats out. Mix completely and dump in a bread pan. I used one like this and the silicone really makes the bread slip out so easily and the clean up is very simple. I sprinkled the other 1/8 cup rolled oats on top for some crunch. I baked the bread for about 35-40 minutes, and it was perfect! Sorry for the lack of pictures, I have been slacking there too! I had a piece last night and a little this morning, but brought the rest for my co-workers. Despite their hate for my healthy obsessions, they ate it and liked it 🙂 How could you not love anything banana?

I feel really crappy for slacking on exercise this week, but I have been eating pretty normally. I at least go for a walk on my lunch break to get some sun, and with all the craziness in my life right now, a walk just feels really good versus a crazy, heart-pumping workout somedays. I’m not even sure how people muster the energy to workout when they are sick, because it zaps all of my energy and I can feel my body needing tons of rest.

This weekend I will be upstate visiting my family for Easter weekend. It’s another 3 days off of work filled with relaxing and I am looking forward to re-charging my batteries after last weekend’s unusual drinking bender. I might be boring, but I choose my relaxed, exercise and food-filled weekends over drinking anytime!

1 thought on “Blah & Bananas”

Leave a Reply

