Random’s of the week

Workouts this week so far:

Monday- Spin class + 2.22 mile treadmill run

Tuesday– Spin class + some random weights/push-ups

Wednesday– 3.25 mile run

Kinda lax on the workouts this week, but still doing better than last week. I just needed a couple of weeks to take it kinda easy. I trained pretty hard over the summer and the whole month of September, running more than I ever have. And of course, just a couple of weeks backing off and I am already feeling out of shape with running and have gotten slower. Isn’t it lovely how that works? I think Skinny Runner said it recently that it’s much easier to stay in shape than it is to get back in shape. We all need our breaks and even though it kinda sucks to feel like you’ve taken a step back, it’s also nice to be challenged again and feel sore. Or am I just crazy? Anyways…

Good eats this week, and last weekend. Check them out.

Amazing Trader Joe’s soup!! Added in steamed broccoli slaw to my bowl and some crushed red pepper

To go along with my soup craving, I was craving bread and cheese badly. So I made some of my own cheesy breadsticks.

Trader Joe’s baguette sliced, sprayed with cooking spray, topped with shredded pepperjack cheese and thrown in the oven at 350 for about 10-15 minutes. I had mine in a little too long but I like things burnt 😉

To use up some of my awesome Flatout wraps that they sent me, I made more breadsticks another night this week using the spicy italian flatbead, sprayed with cooking spray, topped with the shredded pepperjack cheese and cooked in the oven for about 10 minutes on 350. **I put the Flatout wrap in by itself for 5 minutes, then added the toppings.

Eaten while watching my favorite movie of all time, Closer! Best kiss scene of all time.

I love youuuu, Jude Law!

Indulged in some amazing caeser salad and pizza at a super good italian restaurant up in my ‘hood, Antika.

Clearly having an “All I want to eat is carbs and cheese” week. Also known as “PMS”.

I made some delicious protein pancakes with some different ingredients than I usually use.

Finally cooking with coconut oil!

For these I used:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 scoop Sunwarrior chocolate protein
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice

I was trying to make a lower carb version by using less oats and more coconut flour. Then I cooked them in coconut oil, topped them with Better’n Peanut Butter, sugar-free syrup and banana slices.

They came out great but with a mushy texture. Not sure if that’s from the coconut flour or just too much pumpkin/banana mixture. Either way, they were amazing!

Ate dinner at a new bar & grill on 9th Avenue last night called Alfie’s. I had the veggie sandwich which was so good, grilled zucchini, squash and onions on ciabatta bread with sweet potato fries.

The food was good but the service was awful! Our waitress was sweet but after she took our order, she never came back. A bus boy served the food and we were dying for another drink. It was so frustrating especially after a super long day at work!

Thursdays are usually one of my rest days and of course I still woke up early even though I could have slept until 7:30. That is sleeping in in my world… I decided to make Stuft Mama’s mocha and it came out so good!

In one mug I put 2 tablespoons cocoa powder + 2 packets of Splenda. Then I made instant espresso (I use this kind found at my grocery store) VERY strong which was 1 tbsp mixed with 1/4 cup very hot water. Then I microwaved about 1.25 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and mixed everything all together. For about 85 calories and no sugar, this beat out Starbucks for sure! I also made a quick, lighter breakfast since I was awake and starving.

A light original Flatout wrap heated up, stuffed with some Better’n Peanut Butter, coconut oil, a banana, cinnamon and drizzle of honey. DEE-LISH!

What goodies have you eaten this week?

 

2 thoughts on “Random’s of the week”

  1. That soup is one of the (many) reasons I miss Trader Joe’s. I can’t wait until we get one here so I can buy all my staples again! That pizza looks absolutely amazing!! Unfortunately I have to cut down on my carbs so that’s a no no for me but I’m looking for ways to make a low carb crust.

    1. It is the best soup I’ve ever had! I need to cut down on my carbs too! haha I don’t really eat much bread but every once in awhile I get a big huge craving for carbs and will kinda go all out for a week… but the cravings have already gone down! Just gotta give in sometimes. And my work outs have been that much better since a little increase in carbs! I have seen lots of cauliflower pizza crusts in the blog world and am dying to try to make one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

