Spin!

This past weekend, I successfully completed Spin teacher orientation after months of saving and planning for it!

photo (8)

The day was very long but I enjoyed every second. I learned SO MUCH that I can barely believe all the classes I’ve taken the last 2 years have all been pretty incorrect! Every teacher has their own style of course, but a lot of what I learned about poor form and contraindications I believe may have contributed to my knee/IT band pain over the last 2 years. I will still continue to take my favorite classes each week, but hopefully as a better student! For now, I am planning on practicing 2 times a week on my own when the spin room is empty before I start auditioning for teaching positions at gyms! WOO HOO! πŸ™‚

I know I’ve mentioned it in posts, but I’m running my first half-marathon (God willing) on May 5th in my hometown Binghamton, NY! I was signed up for it last year and couldn’t train because of severe shin splints, so I’m hoping everything will be fine throughout this training cycle. I should be more nervous than I am since a lot of my runs still feel reallllly hard after being so sick (and lazy, okay) December-beginning of February. But I was running 8-10 miles every weekend over the summer and into the fall, so I know I can do it. My first actual week of training was last week, and I nailed it! My plan is basically 3 miles on Tuesdays (easy but hilly), 4 miles on Wednesdays (with some HIIT thrown in next month for speed), 3 miles on Thursdays, and long runs on Saturdays or Sundays depending on my schedule. Monday and Friday’s are spinning and yoga, or rest if need be. I also need to make sure I am strength training 2-3 times a week, whether it’s a quick session at the gym or a class, or Jillian Michaels. SO MUCH TO DO.

Anyways, my first long run since Christmas was this past Sunday, and after 3 hours of spinning the day before I figured it would hurt pretty bad. My legs felt amazing and it was the first time I had tracked my GPS in months. Weird enough, I was running the same pace for long runs that I was running last summer! However, my 3 miles yesterday morning were over 1 minute slower and felt much much harder, so you never know. I have been waking up every day and reminding myself how lucky I am to have a passion for fitness and the ability to run. No need to even care about the pace when you are just thankful to move and sweat πŸ™‚

That being said, I am still miserably exhausted juggling work, school and fitness so some mornings I end up oversleeping still. Like this morning. I was bummed cause I had 4 miles on the plan today, and can’t do them after work because John and I are going out to Brooklyn to see one of our favorite comedians! So I’ll plan on making up the 4 miles tomorrow morning before work. Then it’s off to see my family for a long weekend. Balance is extremely challenging but we really have no other choice, huh?

Now if the weather would just stop being crap-tastic, I could have a little more motivation to pound the pavement in the mornings.Β 

10 thoughts on “Spin!”

  1. Congrats OMG becoming certified to teach spin. It’s so awesome! I’ve been an instructor for about 2 years now and went through the same realizations as you during the cert class .. It’s crazy what some do on the bike! As you grow as an instructor, you’ll grow to have your own unique style πŸ™‚ good luck! (Also good luck with half marathon training!)

  2. I’m so proud of you!!! I LOVED my Spinning orientation and still remember it well (over 4 years ago!). You will be a GREAT instructor. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

