Past the Hump

I almost titled this “Hump Day” and then realized it’s actually Thursday! SWEET! Normally late weekdays never excite me but I have the next 2 weekends off and I am SO PUMPED. Let’s back track to last weekend though…

Brenda stayed over Saturday night and we had a really crazy night full of pizza and Nick Kroll in my bed. Literally dream night for the both of us. We woke up Sunday feeling ill-prepared for the 8 mile run ahead of us, but sometimes those are the best runs. This was one of the best runs of my life. We took it slow so we could talk the whole time and that’s how I gauged our pace without constantly checking my phone. We don’t have a time goal for the 1/2 marathon ’cause we just want to have a good time and finish! No pressure necessary.

photo (1)

 

These were 8 hilly miles as we did them in Central Park, so even an 11 minute mile pace is really not that bad! I really don’t care the pace anyways, 8 miles is 8 miles is 8 miles and we are lucky to have the ability to run at all 🙂

I had approximately 33 seconds to shower and get my ass to work (SO lame after a long run, not ample recovery mode) so I did that and felt a mixture of endorphin high and I’m-going-to-pass-out running through my body. I grabbed a bagel to refuel with and chugged water but didn’t get hungry til 3 that afternoon. I ordered a huge cheese and jalapeno quesadilla from Blockheads which is one of my favorite Mexican joints ever!

photo (19)

 

I’m rarely super hungry after a long run, but the day after I’m always starving. Seems to be the way for most runners. So I saved most of my appetite for Monday nights dinner out with John!

photo (18)

 

We finally made it to Dinosaur BBQ in Harlem! We used to go to the original in Syracuse all the time which was over an hour drive. We didn’t even realize we are literally 15 minutes from the Harlem location! So awesome. I started with a small chopped salad with pulled pork and spicy walnuts.

photo (11)

 

I’m not sure if I mentioned it but I am trying to stay away from most meat as I have had my awful stomach issues come back with a fiery passion the last month. I’m allergic to red meat so I never eat that anyways, but lately chicken has been bothering me. Pork seems to be fine but I almost never eat it, so this was fine. I decided to order grilled chicken as my entree since ribs and brisket most certainly do NOT agree with my stomach! In an attempt to keep things semi-healthy, I chucked the bun from the sandwich and got roasted whipped sweet potatoes instead of fries. They turned out to be ABSOLUTELY amazing! But, I had to indulge and get the best mac’n cheese on the planet next to my grandma’s!

photo (17)

 

Doused in garlic hot sauce after picture 🙂

I was supposed to have jury duty Monday-Friday this week, but I guess the case settled out of court so Tuesday we were released around 11 AM. Perfect timing for me to scoot on uptown and make 12:15 spin class with my favorite instructor! It was my first class in 2 weeks, since my orientation, and I finally got cycling shoes! The workout was amazing and the cycling shoes really do make a difference!

photo (16)

 

I followed this up with a 2.5 mile run. Was supposed to be 3, but seriously couldn’t get my legs or mind to do another .5 mile. You know how that goes.

I spent the rest of the night snacking on some delicious creations. First up is what I would like to call healthy brownies. You can cut this into little squares, or stack this like a double layer cake like I did. Either way, so delicious and about 175 calories!

  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1.8 cup and about 1/2 tbsp peanut flour (available on iherb.com – use code GOW479 for $10 off 1st order!)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup plus little more water
  • 8 drops vanilla NuNaturals stevia
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • cinnamon

Mix all thoroughly and pour into sprayed baking dish. I used my Pyrex glass dish and obviously it only filled it about 1 inch. But it turned out perfectly to cut into squares, or two sections to layer! Bake for 18-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

photo (14)

 

photo (13)

 

Topped with banana flavor Better’n Peanut Butter. I think this recipe could also be turned into great pancakes too!

Another snack I whipped up was a little froyo dish.

  • 1/2 container (about 3 spoonfuls) plain non-fat greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp peanut flour
  • 5 drops vanilla NuNaturals stevia drops
  • cinnamon

Mix all that together in a big mug and freeze for 20-25 minutes. I think that time length gives it a perfect consistency that is just a little thicker than normal greek yogurt. I topped it with banana flavored Better’n Peanut Butter, frozen raspberries and cinnamon snackimals cereal! Just found that cereal at my favorite health food store and it’s so good. The size of the little animals inside are actually a good, reasonable size to fit in a serving so I can use portion control with these unlike most other cereals 😉

That pretty much wraps up this week thus far. It’s been “spring break” from online classes all week so that has been a very welcomed break. I’m still fighting major fatigue and the inability to wake up at 5 AM so I’m giving it another try tomorrow to get a run in before work! Just need to get myself used to it again. I can sleep in on Saturday and Sunday but I kinda need to snap out of that! Ugh, I just love sleep now that I’m allowing my body to get so much of it! Double edged sword, I suppose.

How was your week? Anyone still having trouble doing anything other than sleeping thanks to the continued gloomy, freezing weather?

3 thoughts on “Past the Hump”

  1. hey have you tried any of the other flavors of Better N peanut butter? I was looking online and saw “Better N chocolate” flavors too. just wondering what you enjoyed the most cause i think i might order a jar 🙂

Leave a Reply

