Food.

With my last post featuring a super healthy way to cure a pizza craving, it’s clear that I am trying harder than ever to get creative in the kitchen. Most of the time, I eat the same things 5-6 days a week and never really get bored. But sometimes you just need to mix it up a little! I’ve recently been having a love affair with 2% plain greek yogurt. The 2% makes the most ridiculously huge difference in taste and flavor! I can actually eat it plain with no added sweetener. I had never tried using greek yogurt in a savory way, and boy have I missed out. First thing I tried it savory on was a salad bowl from Chipotle.

photo(309)

I get the salad with no rice or beans (don’t really like either) and now no chicken thanks to my stomach 😦 So basically, $10 for a bowl of lettuce, onions and pico de gallo. Add on $2 more for guacamole. It’s a rip off, but I was desperate. The addition of the 2% greek yogurt and hot sauce cured my insane craving for Mexican food! I also had a small bag of Popchips new tortilla chips for the full Mexican food experience. Yummmmmmm.

Next up- a loaded sweet potato. Again, mexican inspired because it’s been my biggest craving lately! I cut a sweet potato down the middle and microwave it for about 5 minutes, then top with shredded cheddar cheese, jalapenos, hot sauce and a big spoon of 2% greek!

photo(310)

Along with a jalapeno egg-white omelet and some green beans with ketchup, it was one of the best dinners I’ve put together in awhile!

Now that the weather is warming up, having a cold dessert is something I crave most nights. A bowl of Stuft Mama’s almond milk ice cream is so low calorie that you can eat it every night and load it with toppings! Check out this post of hers for her recipe. I add 1/2 a frozen banana and vanilla stevia drops to mine, and I don’t use the sugar-free maple syrup at all. I bet that would be yummy if you wanted to create a maple flavored ice-cream though!

photo(316)

Topped with fat free Reddi whip, PB2 sauce and cinnamon. And a baked cookie dough Quest bar, which ya’ll need to try ASAP. It’s the only flavor I personally like, and also the only one that doesn’t bother my stomach. Amazing treat!

This is obviously not something I myself created, but Whole Foods sure answered my foodie prayers.

photo(307)

I LOVE fig and dates, and this is the best flavored greek yogurt I’ve ever had. I usually stay away from the flavors because of the high sugar content, but this is fine once in awhile!

As for my workouts- Ran 10 miles with Brenda on Sunday morning, walked 3 miles and did some squats on Monday, and yesterday I ran 4.5 miles and walked 3 totally uphill carrying groceries. My shoulders are burning today! Today I’m feeling a little unmotivated but I’ve also been cramming homework since I woke up. I’m going to hopefully fit in a short little run and a level of Ripped in 30 before meeting John for dinner later. Always time for a fun NYC dinner out, right? πŸ˜‰

But yeah… really can’t wait til the semester is over in a few weeks!

What is something yummy and/or creative you’ve eaten lately?

Leave a Reply

