Now I Know…

…what they meant with the song “everybody’s workin’ for the weekend.” Even though I usually work weekends, the ones I don’t are so freaking great. Actually when I do work weekends it still feels less stressful! Something about those Saturday and Sundays.

Saturday morning I woke up early to get a long run in and go to BodyPump. My plan was to run 9 miles to see if I would be ready for a half marathon at the end of the month, but I overslept and only had time to run 6. They felt good, but I was really tired at the end. Still not sure about the half. It was so nice out and I got to run a couple miles down Park Avenue. They close it down 3 Saturdays in August each summer for “Summer Streets” and it almost feels like a road race.

photo (15)

 

BodyPump after a long run? It was brutal. I definitely half-assed most of the squat track and still wound up sore as hell.

Refueled with a soy iced coffee and huge pumpernickel raisin bagel with tofu raisin spread. Tastes JUST like cream cheese. Unfortunately you can’t see it because I had 100 things in my hands and this was the best pic I could get while waiting for the subway.

photo (16)

 

After refueling and showering, John and I headed to the Lower East Side for my cousin Tanner’s birthday party. He is one of the coolest people I’ve ever met in my life. He rented a Mister Softee truck for the party! Parked right outside his apartment. Awesome-sauce.

photo (18)

 

waffle cone with vanilla, butterscotch & sprinkles. I can't even.
waffle cone with vanilla, butterscotch & sprinkles. I can’t even.

Somehow this caused me no stomach pains. WIN!

gorgeous view from the rooftop
gorgeous view from the rooftop

After we cooked on his roof for a little, we headed back uptown for a little happy hour action with some co-workers. But not before stopping next door to say hi to Patricia Fields. She is one of my idols. If you aren’t familiar with her, she was the wardrobe stylist for all of Sex and The City. I die.

photo

 

She even came and ate an ice cream cone with us!

At happy hour I had 2 huge glasses of Chardonnay and was seriously white girl wasted. My alcohol tolerance is such a joke. Regardless, I had an awesome time with Sharde and her guy and my guy πŸ™‚

photo (20)

 

photo (21)

 

Have I mentioned how much I love my dude? πŸ™‚

Happy hour was over at 7 and since I had only eaten a bagel and an ice cream cone after my 2+ hour workout, we headed to Mel’s Burger Bar for dinner. Like a true drunk fat-ass, I ordered all the foods and only finished about half.

parmesan jalapeno fries
parmesan jalapeno fries
grilled chicken sandwich with avocado, onions, some kind of sauce and pickles
grilled chicken sandwich with avocado, onions, some kind of sauce and pickles

So good and huge food baby.

Of course Sunday continued on with lots of food and lots of walking.

Brunch at The Brindle Room:

Chocolate hazelnut almond and salted caramel mini donuts as an appetizer? Stop.
Chocolate hazelnut almond and salted caramel mini donuts as an appetizer? Stop.
Smoked pork hash with poached eggs. SO GOOD
Smoked pork hash with poached eggs. SO GOOD

HIGHLY recommend the Brindle Room for brunch. Absolutely delicious and really relaxing inside.

Iced coffee and a HUGE cookie had to follow.

Who is this cookie made for?!
Who is this cookie made for?!
Soy based froyo. Not bad but... not that great haha
Soy based froyo. Not bad but… not that great haha

And then I proceeded to collapse in bed watching Breaking Bad. We’re only on episode 3 of season 1 because it gives me such anxiety! But we’re going to try to at least have the first season finished this week. Anyone else into that show? Love it or hate it? My current favorite show is Orange is The New Black on Netflix! I finished it last week and am still watching it again. Obsessed.

What is your current favorite TV show?Β 

Any great workouts or races this weekend?

What is the best thing you ate this weekend? Mine would be the smoked pork hash! The flavors were outrageous.

2 thoughts on “Now I Know…”

  1. THAT HASH LOOKS BOMB. F’real.
    I have worked almost every damn weekend for the last…ummm…almost three years? So sadly the best thing I ate was leftover peanut butter cookies from work that I got to take home….sad. However, they were some good fuggin peanut butter cookies.

    1. Retail=sucks. But at the same time, I think I would go crazy working Mon-Fri.. having a weekday off here in NYC is amazing cause its so much easier to get things done! Peanut butter cookies sound like a pretttty great way to end a work day!!

Leave a Reply

