9+1 (OMG)

Happy Hump Day, ya’ll!

I have this weird thing about being jinxed. I’m a little bit superstitious but don’t talk about it much because I realize it seems silly. For some reason, whenever I write down my workouts for the week ahead, that happens to be the week that I basically miss every single one. This is a semi recent thing, because lists have helped me so much with so many things in the past and I LOVE lists! I’m sure another part is the fact that I’ve just been really, really lazy this summer. After my half marathon in May, it was the same time that spring semester was over too and I kind of just fell out of my routine and really needed it at first. But a month has turned into 3 months of being way too lax about my workouts and eating a little more stably. I need to bring SOME of that attitude with me because along the way it helped me relax and enjoy other aspects of life a little more. Saying yes to more outings with John, getting tons of sleep, seeing friends more, etc. Sometimes in the midst of training for things/ LIFE in general we get so caught up in what we should be doing to achieve our goals that we forget about the amazing parts of life and memories to be made!

Cheers to dinners out with irreplaceable people!
Cheers to dinners out with irreplaceable people!

So on that note, jinx or no jinx, I’m taking the plunge to let you all know that I have officially signed up for 9 races and 1 volunteer job to fulfill the requirements for guaranteed entry to the 2014 NYC Marathon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol

I’ve been waiting for a week to use that picture.

It is going to be a jam-packed 4 months coming up. My fall semester starts on Monday (online) so while I’m used to working full-time and juggling school, I’m not used to training for 9 races at the same time! So, follow along as my hair turns grey prematurely and I hopefully become an amazing runner. Here are the races I am doing to fulfill the 9 requirements:

Saturday August 24th: Percy Sutton Harlem 5K. Yeah, this whole racing business starts THIS WEEKEND. Never ran a 5K race, so automatic PR. I am not in racing shape for this, so just going to give it my all but not push it too much if anything feels off. I have to go right to work after so sorry ahead of time that I will smell for 9 hours. Hoping to get as close to 30 minutes as possible, and if it’s even a second under I will poop my pants with happiness.

poop

Saturday September 7th: Autism Speaks 4 Miler. No time goals, just going to go on how I feel. Another one where I’ll basically be going to work sweaty after. Oops!

Sunday September 29th: Bronx 10-Miler. Time goal to come! As you can see I have a couple long distances 3 weekends in a row…

Sunday October 6th: Grete’s Great Gallop Half Marathon. 13.1 miles of Central Park hills.

Sunday October 13th: Staten Island Half Marathon. 13.1 miles, after 2 weekends of long distance races, in the borough I’ve never been to!

Sunday October 27th: Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff 5 Miler. Did this race last year and loved it. Hopefully NO hurricanes this year!

Sunday November 17th: Join the Voices 5 Miler. A few weeks off of racing should do me good!

Sunday November 24th: Race to Deliver 4 Miler. This was my first race ever, 2 years ago!

Saturday December 14th: Ted Corbitt 15K. First 15K so automatic PR. Last and final race to complete my 9!

My +1 volunteer credit will be fulfilled November 2nd for the marathon expo!! How amazing, right? I am so stoked to be doing this and love that I have so much to look forward to. It will be tough- especially the 3 back-to-back weekends of long distance racing- but I am going to stay positive and remember that I am lucky to have the ability to run and the desire to run. Some people are not as fortunate, and for them we need to run!

The main things I am going to be focusing on is really reeling it in with my nutrition Monday-Friday. Not even mainly for the weight loss aspect (I do need to tone up, though) but because putting my body through a rigorous training schedule requires giving my body the proper fuel and the right amount! Basically more veggies and protein and less apple cinnamon cheerios for dinner because I’m lazy. Another aspect is taking care of my body thoroughly- no slacking on stretching, foam rolling, yoga and strength. I NEED to keep going to BodyPump and just work through the soreness. I didn’t go at all in the last almost 2 weeks and my knees and hips are feeling it. Twice a week and 1 yoga session will be plenty! I will also be actually living in my PRO compression socks regardless of my outfit choice. If you haven’t entered my giveaway yet, do it now! It ends tomorrow!

You guys, this is such a huge thing for me. I spent my entire childhood wishing I could be an athlete but having no self-esteem to do so. As dorky as it may sound, I feel like this is my second chance to be an athlete 🙂

Thank God I have an entire year to get into marathon shape- whatever that means!

Have you ever ran a marathon? All tips and memories welcome.

11 thoughts on “9+1 (OMG)”

  1. weeeeeee so happy! love the badass picture! and pictures of fake poop make me automatically think of you 🙂 so you are fo sho’ doing the 10k?! errrrmmmm I’ll do itttt with youu?

    1. I love that poop pics = me. I am honored. Ask me about the 10K in another month, once I’ve raised my mileage to running 5 times a week!! AHHHH

  2. Yay!! I think it’s great you are commiting yourself this way. You are a great runner and I know you can do anything you set your mind to. Props on the marathon. I wouldn’t have the nuggets to even attempt it.

  3. Dang giiiiirl! I wish I could run…..I mean I CAN run…just not very far. I’d rather be on an elliptical for hours than run for 15 minutes. No lie. The only time you’ll ever catch me in a race is if it’s one for fun, not for time. So I’m totally completely jelly of your running talent. Kill them races, you got this on lock 😉

    1. Thank you babe!!! I love how everyone has different tastes in exercise! That’s what keeps this world of ours different 🙂 You totally have to find an exercise you like and be able to stick to it! I personally couldn’t do more than 10 mins on the elliptical, and that would only be if someone was paying me at LEAST $50 😉 haha!

Leave a Reply

