Autism Speaks 4 Miler.

Yesterday I completed race 2 of 9 for my 9+1 NYRR requirements for the marathon next year. I ran in the Autism Speaks 4 mile race in Central Park. My plan was to run 5 miles before the race to make it a 9 mile long run because I haven’t been running more than 5 miles in a month and I have 2 half marathons next month. Ummm yeah, need to get on that. But I was up really late doing homework (on a Friday night?! so rude) and overslept so I only had time to do about 1.2 miles before and the same after because I had to, of course, work after the race.

I did my usual pre-race rituals which include a cheese-less, jalapeno & onion pizza from Domino’s the night before.

photo (10)

You can see how small the pieces are so yes, I eat the entire thing. And am not even close to full afterwards. It works out perfectly but yikes, it doesn’t photograph very well. Sorry 🙂

I was SO tired when I had to wake up Saturday morning, but I drank some coffee and had 1/2 of a really small banana with 1 tsp peanut butter. I never change these rituals, regardless of the length of the race!

It was a beautiful day for a race, only complaint being that the women’s race didn’t start til 9:00 AM and the sun was pretty hot at that point. At the start I met this adorable woman Christine who was so sweet and I felt like I had known her for years! Love people like that 🙂

photo (11)

At the start, we realized people were cheering and snapping pictures of Jimmy Fallon!

photo (13)

He ran in the women’s race and you can watch a video of him speaking here. Pretty cool! I zoomed in like the creeper that I am…

photo (1)

I ran quite a bit for me this week and Ripped in 30 killed me as usual on Wednesday so my quads and hamstrings were really sore. I had no real desire to ‘race’ but I started to feel competitive a few minutes into the race when we hit the 1st hill and I saw people slowing down and walking. This always makes me want to scream “TRAIN ON HILLS!” because it gives you such an advantage. I’m obviously no pro-runner, but I know better than to go out fast to conserve energy for the hills and for the end of the race. I had a good playlist blaring and felt REALLY good in terms of my legs. My stomach however, not so much. I just tried to ignore it and also ignore that I was really thirsty. In a short race I won’t stop at the water stations, but I do usually have a bottle of water with me. I had already drank most of it before we started so I just pushed on. The west side of the race has about 3 hills that are loooooong. Once the downhills come, my knee starts to feel off and so I had to slow down the last 3/4 of the last mile, and I really couldn’t sprint to the finish because it was making my foot feel so tight. Anyone have any ideas what that’s about? Seems to only happen when I’m running fast and doesn’t kick in til about 2.5 miles in.

Anyways, I knew my 4 mile PR from 2 years ago was 37:50 and I wasn’t going to beat that but I wanted to come in under 40 minutes. My official time was 39:23 with a 9:51 average pace. Super happy about that! It felt HARD the whole time, but taking into account the hills (and my stomach cramping) I’m really cool with the time. With my warm-up and cool-down miles I totaled 6.46 miles for the day.

Right after I crossed the finish line, I saw Beth! No picture but she was so, so sweet and off to finish the rest of her 20 mile run. I shutter at the thought of me doing that a year from now!

I worked til 6 then went to dinner with John before we went to see a comedy show. We ate at a bar in Chelsea called Smithfield NYC which is a sports bar with a REALLY great menu. I was so surprised by their healthy choices and ended up having the best salad.

photo (17)

 

HUGE bowl of lettuce, red onion, dates, kalamata olives, goat cheese, pine nuts, grilled chicken and parm cheese all chopped up. This didn’t even need dressing because the goat cheese, dates and red onion flavored the entire thing! If you’re near Penn Station, this is pretty close and a really delicious place to eat.

After dinner, we headed to the Metropolitan Room to see one of my old friends in a comedy show! I don’t have any pictures but I am SO PROUD of her and she is hysterical. Go to her Facebook page and show her some love!

Once we got home, I was so exhausted that my whole body hurt. I simply can’t function on 5 hours or less of sleep a night for multiple nights in a row and NOT get sick. So I slept in instead of running 9 miles this morning, and I’m fine with it! I’ll make up for it next weekend and make an effort to get much more sleep this week!

Did you run any races this weekend? If not, what were your workouts?

What’s the most delicious thing you ate this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Autism Speaks 4 Miler.”

  1. Hi Jen, I am a new reader of your blog. Thanks for all the inspiring posts.
    I did the Spartan race this weekend, which if you like running and being a little hardcore in general, I recommend it.
    The most delicious thing eaten…bagel from wonder bagel in NJ. Seriously, way better than anything in NY and I know that’s a bold statement.
    Your time at the race was great though. Central Park is no joke. Congrats, you should be proud.

    1. Thanks so much for reading Andrea!! The Spartan race sounds CRAZY, congrats for completing that!! I basically need to try that bagel place in NJ ASAP because nyc bagels are my life! 🙂

  2. Stomachs are so funny. Your pre-race pizza would kill my stomach.
    Since you have stomach issues, do you ever have issues with spinning? I can not eat any sort of pepper the same day I spin as I will get horrific cramps.

    1. I know right?! Everyone is so different! Eating something spicy before spin has given me stomach cramps and bad acid reflux before for sure. I haven’t done a real spin class in MONTHS! The new gym I joined a few months back doesn’t have the best instructors.. all the more reason I need to get my butt in gear with auditioning for positions!

  3. GREAT race, Jen! I can’t believe I wasn’t following you on Twitter…problem solved! It was SO great to finally meet you on Saturday. I’m so excited you came over and said hi! And trust me, if I can run 20 miles, YOU can run 20 miles next year too! Promise. And YES, I would love to run together some time. I think we run around the same pace. Let’s make it happen!

  4. nice site! Glad I found it. Ran 8+ miles – Central Park look then to my friend’s apartment on UES. Upcoming races include Great Cow Harbor Run and Entenmann’s 1/2 Marathon – both in the next several weeks on Long Island.

Leave a Reply

