When Running Is Hard.

We’ll get into what to possibly do when running seems so hard in just a moment! (Why do I sound like I’m on TV?)

So after the half marathon Sunday which is utterly exhausting in and of itself, I went to work and then out to celebrate with John. We walked around for quite awhile after dinner and then I started to have an anxiety attack inside Trader Joe’s (I tend to have them when I’m overtired) so we knew it was bedtime for me! I am seriously an infant. I didn’t get much sleep and had to wake up at 4:45 AM to catch a 6:10 AM bus up to Binghamton for just a few hours to get my hair done. I got to Port Authority and found out that I stupidly booked both tickets LEAVING from Binghamton, not NYC. So I had to wait for 2 hours until the 8:00 bus left. Being exhausted and moody and sore and sweaty in Port Authority is probably the definition of hell on earth.

All was worth it though because I got to the salon where I love to go and was greeted with foils and wine.

photo 4

 

I don’t have an after picture right now but I went a lot blonder with some layers. If you are in the Binghamton area I highly recommend Friends & Company salon! If I travel 4 hours just to get my hair done, you KNOW it’s an amazing place.

I had just a minute to spare before I went right back so my brother and I went to get my favorite salad at Broadway Diner.

photo 5

 

Greek salad with grilled chicken, honey mustard on the side. The only thing missing was their french fries that are life changing but I figured I needed no more grease in my belly after the burger the night before.

It took me til today to feel caught up on sleep but it was well worth it!

So the other day on Facebook I saw this great quote posted from Competitor Running that I follow on there. It made all the sense in the world to why running seems difficult OFTEN to me lately, and I believe it’s from being a little too inconsistent and taking too many days off in between runs.

“I sometimes hear people say they don’t like running, but I think most people are never in good enough shape to really enjoy running. If you try to run consistently 30 days in a row — give or take a few days off during that span — there is something special that happens and all of a sudden you start feeling good and really enjoying it. But if you only run once or twice a week and are taking several days off, you’re always fighting getting in shape.” – Jenny Barringer Simpson

I would not suggest running 30 days in a row to anyone because you’re asking for an injury and for burn out, but I too often take 3-4 days off due to oversleeping and just plain laziness that my pace suffers and it feels like I can’t breathe well. This might not be the ONLY contributing factor, but I want to safely be able to run 5 days per week. This is also not just about pace but how I feel overall when running. There are definitely some days where a run feels incredible and “easy” but it isn’t often for me lately. I’ll admit my allergies have been the worst they’ve ever been for the last 6 months so breathing in general has not been easy, but I think I am also a tad bit lazy. I love sleep, what can I say!

sleep

 

[source]

Of course you have to listen to your body and distinguish a real need for rest from just being lazy. This is where I fall short because by nature I am a lazy bum! No shame in my game. But consistency is really key in improving in anything, so of course this can be applied to any exercise!

So after this half marathon on Sunday, the rest of my races for the year are shorter except for a 15K in December. I want to run more days per week but keep them to 3-5 miles with a longer run on weekends, probably 8 or 9 miles max. I will also up my strength training and get back to Bikram yoga now that I won’t have to worry about severe soreness hindering a race 😉 Ready to switch it up!

How many days per week do you run or workout?

3 thoughts on “When Running Is Hard.”

  1. You don’t know me but my son’s photo is one of many on your mom’s refrigerator 🙂 So with taking him to her house I have heard all about you and I am so glad that I did. I started reading your blog about a month ago while sitting on my couch of course. Then I began to feel guilty about reading your blog while sitting on the couch. So what did I do you ask? I went to the nearest track and “ran” by that I mean I ran a lap and walked a lap but after reading your article in Womens Health I knew that you started in a similar fashion. Well this morning I ran 2 miles with out stopping hooray! Slowly of course I think I was running at 4.5 mph but the fact remains that I did NOT stop. I was feeling pretty proud of myself and thankful for your unwitting encouragement. So remember when your blogging about your bad days your letting people like me know that it’s Ok to have bad days but that’s no reason to give up. Thank you Jen!

    1. THis makes me SO happy! Ahhhhh thank you for reading and I am so excited I motivated you to start running 🙂 It is so rewarding and challenging that it really adds life to your years. Even the crappy runs are better than not running!

Leave a Reply

