Eat, Eat, Eat.

How is it already another weekend? The last month has completely flown by! After 3 weeks of long races, I thought I would be looking forward to a race-less weekend and a lot of rest but I’m totally feeling down about having nothing to do! Well, not NOTHING to do, since I’m doing the 5 mile Breast Cancer walk tomorrow but you know what I mean 😉 There is still time to donate if you can!

http://main.acsevents.org/goto/artificiallybalanced

So besides a spin class Tuesday morning (my 1st in FOREVER) I didn’t work out all week. It felt pretty great up until yesterday when I was ready to run on my day off, then I slept in until NOON?! I apparently needed 12+ hours of sleep and had no time to fit in a run since I had tons of homework and a CPR class to go 3 hours from my waking time. I am now officially CPR/AED certified so I can begin auditioning for spin positions and possibly save your life if need be! Don’t quote me on that though…

Lack of workouts this week but no lack of delicious food. I figured if I’m gonna be lazy I might as well eat like junk too, right? One week every few months of total laziness is 100% needed (for me) to regroup and get motivated for new goals. Let’s just say I’m looking forward to going back to ZERO dairy again starting Monday. I haven’t had all that much but apparently 2 custards this week are enough to pretty much kill me.

I mean, it’s fall flavor time at Shake Shack… how are you supposed to say no?

photo 1

 

Cinnamon pear cobbler with roasted apples on Monday night. I look possessed and I probably am.

photo 1 (3)

 

Candied apple with roasted apples last night. The best thing (or at least ice cream thing) I’ve ever tasted.

I also had some vegetables yesterday! But yesterday was pretty much the only day I had them all week. Oops.

photo 4

 

I should really apologize for this picture but here are the facts: I was running 20 minutes late to CPR class and only had eaten oatmeal and it was 3:30 PM. I ordered this wrap from Tasty Deli, a local in my ‘hood, and CANNOT wait to eat this again. Spinach wrap with grilled veggies (a TON), feta and honey mustard. I ate it on the subway and had sauce all over my face and could not have cared less. WaHi knows their wraps, yo.

photo 5

 

Last night before the custard and after the CPR class (did I mention I can save your life now?) we chowed down at Island Burger. This place has amazing sandwiches and the 2nd best regular fries in NYC (1st for me is Brindle Room). Last night I kept it simple with a BLT minus the mayo and add avocado. The tomatoes on this were so fresh and it totally hit the spot. How can one go wrong with bacon? Ya can’t.

As always, oatmeal for breakfast erryday. Throwing on fall toppings makes it a whole new experience.

photo 2

 

Banana chia oats with cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, honey, PB and apple butter.

NEEDED pancakes for dinner Tuesday night. Used Amanda’s recipe for super fat and fluffy ones.

  • 3 TBSP coconut flour
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp extract of choice (i use vanilla)
  • 1 TBSP greek yogurt (plain or flavored)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 8 drops of stevia

Make sure batter is THICK for the fluffiest pancakes. You can add extra coconut flour if your batter isn’t thick enough. This makes 4 cute little ‘cakes for me.

photo 3

 

Topped them with sugar-free syrup, coconut PB and sides of banana and turkey bacon. Brinner at it’s finest.

Finally got back on the workout wagon this morning with a quick 2 mile HIIT session on the treadmill and 15 minutes of push-ups and upper body work. Short but super sweaty workout! Trying to get in some miles before the breast cancer walk tomorrow morning, but will not do more than 7 miles. Need a little bit of rest from long distance for this week! 🙂

What deliciousness did you eat this week?

8 thoughts on “Eat, Eat, Eat.”

  1. Jen you have inspired me to start running. I have just started a new app couch to 5k. Tracking my cals on my fitness pal and going to invest in a heart monitor. I read your blog every day. I will let you know how I am doing. I weigh almost as much as you did and have tried every diet known and got bored with them. Keep the blog going.

    1. This makes me so happy 🙂 Couch to 5K is such a great program!! I am here to help in any way I can 🙂 Thank you so much for reading!!!

  2. YOU CAN NEVER GO WRONG WITH BACON! Whenever a customer at work asks me what burger I recommend, I always say “somethin’ with bacon!” And usually all the guys at the table end up high-fiving or fist bumping me…..
    Fall flavors are my weakness…..I pretty much go to Fred Meyer every day after the gym to get a few things, and they place a shit-ton of pumpkin goodies at the entrance…..it’s just so rude.

Leave a Reply

