Making Strides Breast Cancer walk

This weekend was pretty great. Lots of delicious food, some workouts and one of the most inspiring events I’ve ever been to! Back tracking to Saturday…

After I got out of work Saturday, John and I were hungry but not starving so we walked around for awhile debating what we wanted to eat. We stumbled upon Madison Square Eats, a little section of Madison Square Park that has a bunch of food trucks set up for a few weeks in the fall. We decided to share a small personal pizza from Roberta’s, a famous pizza place in Brooklyn, and a soft pretzel.

photo 3 (2)

 

photo 2 (3)

 

I REALLY wanted to try the feta and olive pretzel, but John is boring and only likes plain. The plain was delicious though! Not greasy and buttery like Auntie Anne’s, just really doughy.

Dessert was had, of course. We shared apple cinnamon and pumpkin doughnuts at Doughnut Plant.

photo 4 (2)

 

And a coconut honey bubble tea.

photo 5 (2)

 

Side note- that bubble tea DESTROYED my stomach. I stupidly forgot it was dairy and sucked down the whole thing. Never again. So when I woke up Sunday morning I pretty much wanted to puke and cry. But I rallied and got down to the gym super early so I had time to run about 5 miles before the walk started.

I’m glad I did because the sunrise was gorgeous Sunday morning!

photo 1 (2)

 

The park was covered in pink!

photo 1 (1)

 

photo 2 (1)

 

There were groups of families and friends sharing stories of their loved ones who had lost their battles with breast cancer, and I teared up multiple times. I have not been effected by a loved one having cancer, but I know the chances of it happening are SO high that it’s terrifying. The women who have survived breast cancer had a special section just for them with big pink sashes that had “SURVIVOR” printed on them. Throughout the race the volunteers on the sides would cheer extra loud for them, and I teared up every single time and had chills everywhere!

Speaking of the volunteers, they were incredible. If we had these kinds of volunteers at running races we would all PR every time through their energy alone! They were mostly younger teenagers and made the experience really great.

photo 4

 

one of the volunteers signs!
one of the volunteers signs!

photo 5

 

photo 2 (4)

 

Fred Lebow statue wearing a pink boa :)
Fred Lebow statue wearing a pink boa πŸ™‚

It was pretty much the most perfect fall morning. Walking those gigantic hills is so much easier than running them! πŸ˜‰

I loved this whole experience so much. Walking 5 miles surrounded by powerful and strong women was really exhilarating.

photo 5 (3)

 

I raised $150 and will definitely be doing this walk every year!

Have you ever done a breast cancer walk?

7 thoughts on “Making Strides Breast Cancer walk”

    1. I love the idea of a spin class for breast cancer!! What a fabulous event. I may have my first audition for Spin on Wednesday!!! I will let you know if I do how it goes! So nervous! Any tips for 1st time audition??

  1. I have done the Portland Race for the Cure almost every year they’ve had it- wouldn’t miss it! I have raised money for them the last 7 . Love seeing all the survivors and their families-very heartwarming!
    Love your blog!

    1. Good for you for sticking with such a great event 7 years in a row!! I plan to keep doing more charity run/walks and raise as much awareness and donations as I can πŸ™‚

  2. I did a a Relay for Life 5k in the spring and a part In pink zumbathon last month. Cancer fundraisers are my second favorite…right behind Alzheimer’s. Love your NYC pics, it’s on my bucket list. I want to go when I can see the US Open and the Yankees…so it will be a Sept trip

    Not to hijack your post, but I finished my 10k in my goal….upright, not puking and not dead last…in 50 degree blowing pouring rain! Time was not great (74 minutes) but I did it

    1. I am so happy and proud of you for finishing!!! Woo hoo!!! Did you feel great after??! Ahhh I am so excited for you! Alheimer’s took my grandpa so that is a fundraiser I also plan to do in the future. Such a sad disease 😦 You definitely have to come to NY sometime!!!

Leave a Reply

