I’m Alive!

Ugh, I sincerely apologize for being THE LAZIEST person ever last week in terms of updating the blog and I apologize to myself right now that I took an entire week off from working out and ate nothing but junk. My stomach is not happy with the amount of sugar I chomped down the last week, and a few days of a break from working out turned into a full week because once I start getting a ton of sleep instead of waking up at 4:30 AM it is SO HARD to start getting up. Add in the cold weather and I need a huge kick in my ass. Any takers?

Last week was fun though. John and I went to see an awesome comedy show/podcast recording with some of our favorite comedians. This is a horrible picture but we were in the front row and the lighting makes it impossible to get a clear picture with the iPhone camera.

photo 1 (1)

This was Todd Barry, Sarah Silverman and Natasha Lyonne from my favorite show, Orange is The New Black! They went on for almost 2 hours and it was only $15 a ticket. Suhweeeet.

We then went to the best chinese place ever near the venue, Michael & Ping’s. Their food is WAY healthier than your normal Chinese take-out and about 1000x better tasting, too. I got the “Main Mein Salad” which is cold sesame noodles with chicken and veggies with a spicy peanut sauce on it.

photo 2 (1)

Halloween was a super fun day starting with a little work party. Every year I want to dress up and be creative and every year I fail miserably by not having enough time to plan anything. I went with my go-to costume, a.k.a all of my own clothes and personal style, Rachel Zoe.

photo 4

After work I went to Brenda’s where we threw together a costume we had talked about dressing up as for almost a year. Again, we are the worst procrastinators ever. I think we nailed it minus the wigs?

Who we were supposed to be..
Who we were supposed to be..

photo 5

Either way, a shoulder-padded blazer and ugly sweater vest (sorry Eddie!!) are always funny.

My volunteering session at the NYC Marathon expo Saturday, held at the Javits center, was one of the best experiences of my life hands down. I got there at 8:00 AM and volunteered til 2:00 and I got to hand out the bibs to the runners. The amount of smiling, extremely excited and happy faces I got to talk to made me the happiest I’ve been in a long time. The organization of volunteering was on point and it could not have been easy to organize. Over 50,000 bibs were picked up from this expo over the course of 3 days. I probably waited on 200 myself! I CANNOT wait for it to be me picking up my bib next year! 🙂

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2)

John met me after my shift and we walked around the expo for awhile. Of course I had to stop by the Mizuno booth and got the VIP treatment without actually being a VIP 😉

photo 4 (1)

photo 5 (1)

After explaining to the very knowledgeable dude that I am losing sleep over Mizuno not making my beloved Wave Elixir 7’s anymore (yes I tried the 8’s and didn’t like them) he made me try on 4 different pairs until I found the right ones to replace them. I wasn’t going to buy but they were offering them for 20% off so I did. In a few weeks after I put some more miles on these, I will be wearing the Wave Inspire 9’s. They feel a lot like the Elixir so I pray they work out for me!

I didn’t get a chance to eat during my volunteering so John and I hit up 5 Napkin Burger for a late lunch. I usually get the veggie burger but decided to go for the special of the day which was a turkey burger stuffed with herbed goat cheese, cranberry ketchup and crispy shallots. MOUTH WATERING.

photo 5 (2)

This was promptly followed by a CANDIED YAM cookie.

photo

 

This was then followed by falling asleep at 4:00 PM. I will recap the marathon tomorrow. I watched for a couple of hours and it was so freaking amazing. I just cannot wait for next year!

Have you ever volunteered at a race or expo?

Leave a Reply

