Hot Yoga + Dinner Party

I feel like I just had one of the best weekends ever. It was a perfect balance of fitness, food, friends and a ton of fun (and only a little work 😉 ) which I feel like never happens. I ended the week strong with staying on track and eating all of my meals at home Monday-Thursday and with some great workouts. Friday night I planned to go to my first hot vinyasa class (I’ve done Bikram, didn’t love it) and John agreed to come too! We went to Yoga to The People which offers $5 hot vinyasa classes at their 38th St location!! They fill up VERY quickly, so we got there a little early and snagged the last 2 spots. The room was less hot than bikram but I still was absolutely drenched just a few minutes into the class. I freaking LOVED it. I haven’t practiced Vinyasa in so long and the soreness in my back, shoulders and abs are insane. John liked it, too! Yay!

photo 1

 

We followed that up with pizza in bed. I had a long run Saturday morning and what better way to refuel from hot yoga? This was literally my dream date night. I love my soulmate 🙂

Medium no-cheese pizza with grilled chicken and onions. Beyond amazing.
Medium no-cheese pizza with grilled chicken and onions. Beyond amazing.

Saturday morning: 8 mile run through the crazy fog of Central Park. IN SHORTS! 😀

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1 (3)

photo 2

I had an awesome meeting with someone at noon at a Starbucks in Brooklyn so I had to shower quick and tried a new-to-me drink that STUFT Mama used to drink. Bare with me: Iced venti soy green tea latte with no classic syrup, 2 pumps of sugar-free vanilla, and a shot of espresso.

photo 1 (1)

 

SO good. I estimated the calories at 250-ish since I nixed the classic syrup and it cost almost $7 so I will not be purchasing these much unless I plan to get a 3rd job at Starbucks.

After my meeting I met John for brunch at… you guessed it… Brindle Room. We’re so predictable but it’s hard to try new places when you find a place that’s so perfect. I did however try a new dish there instead of my usual, which was Shakshuka. I didn’t know until I just looked it up but it’s an Israeli dish and really healthy! It’s just a base of spiced tomato sauce, poached eggs, feta cheese crumbles, scallions and parsley. At Brindle Room it’s served with grilled sourdough bread.

photo 2 (1)

 

Here’s a link to a great recipe for it. I think this may become a new dinner for me!

After brunch we stopped at Trader Joe’s wine shop and then back home so I could whip up an apple crisp for the dinner party we were going to. My good friend Sharde at work is an amazing event planner and host, and she had a dinner party at her apartment last night. She is a freaking amazing cook! She went all out and set up gorgeous tables with centerpieces that had flowers and goldfish in them.

photo 4 (1)

 

photo 5 (1)

 

photo 4 (4)

Her menu included baked chicken breasts (stuffed with mozz, tomato and basil but I had mine plain since cheese… boo), asparagus, caesar salad, potatoes, pasta salad and bread.

photo 1 (2)

 

While I wanted to dive straight into the bowl of caesar salad and eat all the chicken, I saved room for wine. Lots. Of. Wine. I hadn’t drank since September so I’m in struggle city today with a killer hangover. But it was worth it because we all had so much fun!

shots! i sat these out... it was best.
shots! i sat these out… it was best.
aren't we pretty?
aren’t we pretty?

photo 4 (3)

the hostess!
the hostess!
wine. too much wine.
wine. too much wine.
loves them!
loves them!
:)
🙂

Great, great weekend. Ready to tackle another healthy week tomorrow!

What were the highlights of your weekend?

Have you ever done hot vinyasa or bikram? Like it/love it/hate it?

7 thoughts on “Hot Yoga + Dinner Party”

  1. I am with you on Bikram! I tried it twice and both times just wanted to pass out. Not worth it for me. I love hot vinyasa yoga. It’s much more manageable and doesn’t stick to the same exact routine every time like Bikram. Glad you liked it too!

    1. Right?! I tried Bikram twice and just after 2 times couldn’t believe how bored I was. Love that vinyasa changes it up!

  2. You are the cutest thing ever! Looks like sooo much fun and seriously, thank you for all the inspiration.

    My weekend highlights were some family time, the fact that it was above freezing for the entire 48 hours, and some Mongolian BBQ. And cupcakes, but only half of one!

    1. Thank you so much you are too sweet! 🙂 Your weekends sounds so fun too Jenna! Mongolian BBQ is something I need to try!!

    1. No drunk texts only because my stupid phone died! Don’t say Johnny “works out with me” because this was maybe the 4th time in 8 years he did any physical activity with me 🙂 hahahaha but im so proud of him for trying yoga!! Hot vinyasa was sooo much better than bikram too. I am literally still so sore I can barely move my arms!! I MISS YOU TOOOO CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU!

Leave a Reply

