Anniversary (& a look at my journey in pics!)

Yesterday was me and John’s 8 year anniversary! We dated for almost a month before making it “official” which was hilarious that I tried to play hard-to-get with an older dude. Don’t worry, it was legal! πŸ˜‰ I was almost 18 and he was 24 when we met but as it goes, men never act their age. It doesn’t seem like it’s been 8 years AT ALL because I still remember every memory from the beginning on like it was yesterday.

Last night he surprised me with a date filled with my favorite things: pizza, coffee and dessert. We started out at Motorino which is a fancier pizza place I’ve wanted to try for awhile, but with no reservations and a VERY small interior it proves to be hard to get in. We lucked out and got seated right away and the food was absolutely amazing! I started with their special appetizer for the night which was baby Brussels sprouts sauteed with olive oil, honey, smoked pancetta and a sprinkle of pecorino. UNREAL.

photo 2 (8)

 

I had the marinara pizza since it has no cheese and John had the meatball pizza. Sorry for the awful pics, I didn’t want to use my flash since your table is touching the table next to you and I didn’t want to be annoying haha

photo 3 (5)

 

photo 4 (6)

 

We then headed to one of my favorite coffee shops called The Bean. We got some coffees, and John pulled out 2 slices of carrot cake (my favorite!!) that he had gotten earlier after googling “best carrot cake in NYC”. He got it from Amy’s Bread, and it was definitely delicious. SO RICH that I only took about 3 bites before having to pull the plug. The rest is in the fridge for dessert tonight and probably tomorrow!

photo (74)

 

It was such a perfect night totally tailored for me πŸ™‚ We really don’t buy each other gifts but rather plan special date nights like this, but I did completely surprise him when I decided to get him a gift that we could both experience. I got him tickets for the New York Rangers, his favorite hockey team! They are expensive so he’s only been to one game and I’ve never been, but we had a cheap Christmas so I saved a little and splurged. We’re going early next month and I’m stoked!

Since this blog also serves as my own personal journal type thing, I wanted to post pictures from all throughout my relationship even though it doesn’t fit the theme of my blog (food/fitness). Then I realized, these pictures DO fit the theme because you can see how much weight I’ve lost along the way! It’s been a long journey with LOTS of ups and downs, but how lucky am I that I found the perfect partner who loves me no matter how much I weigh πŸ™‚ Feel free to exit now, regular fitness posts will resume tomorrow!

my prom! hahaha
my prom! hahaha
LOL please don't murder me babe. My prom hair was a complete DISASTER but that's a whole other story.
LOL please don’t murder me babe. My prom hair was a complete DISASTER but that’s a whole other story.

 

1st summer together at my friend Mark's cottage
1st summer together at my friend Mark’s cottage
1st vacation together in Ocean City, MD (on a ferris wheel, hence my hair ha)
1st vacation together in Ocean City, MD (on a ferris wheel, hence my hair ha)

 

2nd year in OC, MD 2007
2nd year in OC, MD 2007
John was in a band for years when we lived upstate and I went to all their shows and we would get back to his house so late.. but it was so much fun :)
John was in a band for years when we lived upstate and I went to all their shows and we would get back to his house so late.. but it was so much fun πŸ™‚

 

Such an amazing guitar player!!
Such an amazing guitar player!!
1st wedding together in 2007!
1st wedding together in 2007!

 

In our 1st apartment together at the end of 2007
In our 1st apartment together at the end of 2007
3rd year in OC, MD together! This trip was so, so much fun. I will never forget it!
3rd year in OC, MD together! This trip was so, so much fun. I will never forget it!

photo 4 (1)

photo 5 (1)

 

Those above 3 pictures from our 3rd vacation together in Ocean, MD, I had lost almost 20 pounds before we went. I just followed Weight Watchers for a few weeks but of course put it all back on and then some once we got back.

Shortly after we moved into our 2nd apartment. I had gained all the weight back I had lost in the summer. It's so crazy for me to see this because at this point I don't even remember being this big!
Shortly after we moved into our 2nd apartment. I had gained all the weight back I had lost in the summer. It’s so crazy for me to see this because at this point I don’t even remember being this big!
My face is unrecognizable! Little did I know this would be the last winter I was overweight.
My face is unrecognizable! Little did I know this would be the last winter I was overweight.

I have basically no pictures of us during 2009… it was a super hard year for us and for me in general! That summer was when I took charge of my health and by spring 2010…

The Flaming Lips concert! I had lost 65 pounds since the picture before this!!
The Flaming Lips concert! I had lost 65 pounds since the picture before this!!

A few months later, we went to Ocean City for the first time in 2 years and I felt SO great!

photo 4 (3)

photo 5 (2)

photo 1 (2)

Later that fall, we started to visit NYC a lot and figure out a plan to move there as my reward for losing over 100 pounds!

photo 3 (3)

photo 2 (5)

Our last Christmas living upstate:

This was also when my eating disorder started.. I honestly thought I was still heavy here!
This was also when my eating disorder started.. I honestly thought I was still heavy here!

 

:) Celebrating leaving Binghamton!!
πŸ™‚ Celebrating leaving Binghamton!!
Going away party my family threw us!
Going away party my family threw us!

 

NYC Residents!
NYC Residents!
LOL Not a good hat choice, Jen.. yikes.
LOL Not a good hat choice, Jen.. yikes.

photo 1 (4)

photo 4 (5)

 

And my favorite picture of us, ever, from just a few months ago.

photo 5 (5)

 

Thanks for coming down memory lane with me!Β 

What is your best anniversary story?

24 thoughts on “Anniversary (& a look at my journey in pics!)”

  1. I remember those late nights, those stressful years. I am so glad you guys made it through all the bumps and you are on such a healthy path Jen. You guys inspire me. Much Love Sweetie! – Jill

  2. Happy anniversary!!! Sounds like a great night out. I enjoy carrot cake mostly for the frosting but the cake is pretty good, too! It’s my dad’s favorite, too.
    WOW what a change over time with those photos!!! Amaaaaazing.

    1. Thanks girl!! I actually DONT like the frosting on carrot cake and have to scrape most of it off :-X I know, I’m insane lol not a fan of anything other than super light whipped cream frosting and it’s rare to find a cake with that!

    1. Thank you!!! I actually have been missing my brown hair but it would take way too long and too much money to get this platinum blonde out! haha The carrot cake was delicious but truthfully just way too rich, and this is coming from John who knows no boundaries when it comes to sugar! haha

    1. SO incredible! I used to get angry or feel bad about myself when I would look back at pictures and now I just remember that even though I was overweight, I have so many wonderful memories still! No need to shame myself since THAT overweight girl is the one who made the decision to get healthy πŸ™‚

  3. I love how you said “no need to shame myself since THAT overweight girl is the one who made the decision to get healthy” because I still find it hard to look at those old pictures of myself, I remember the uneasy way I felt about myself, but not anymore!! Your right we should be proud of who we are and what we have done…Not the size we were!!! THanks for this…It’s exactly what I needed to hear today!!!

    1. You are so welcome Leanne! it’s still “weird” for me to see them, but nowadays its more like “ugh, i wish i were still that young!” haha just a little shift in positive thinking helps so much. There are things the old me had that I don’t have now that I would trade, so the grass isn’t ALWAYS greener.. just healthier πŸ™‚

  4. I love this!!! To me, I can connect with the health and fitness part of your blog better when I can see the other parts of your life, too … It’s all connected! And so much fun! Perfect date night you had! We just did a similar one over the weekend where we ate dinner and then went somewhere else for dessert and coffee. I loved the relaxed attitude!

    1. Thank you so much!! That’s exactly my thoughts too when reading other blogs is that I love to see all aspects of their life because everything affects how we choose to live and eat! Coffee after dinner is so relaxing!! πŸ™‚

  5. Yallllz are so adorable!! Happy (late) anniversary!!! I love the journey via pictures, it’s so crazy how every day doesn’t seem any different, yet so much changes over time. You, my friend, have quite the inspirational journey πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

