Treat. Yo. Self.

I am officially declaring today the last day of this winter. GOODBYE. I can’t with you anymore. I am so sick of wearing layers and a huge puffy jacket and feeling just generally gross and unkempt. I am literally losing my mind so I really needed to give myself some TLC. How did I do this? Yesterday I online shopped (a little toooo much) for birthday presents for myself and today I received my yearly bonus at work and guess what? I BOOKED ME AND JOHN’S FIRST TRIP TO MEXICO!! More on that later because I’m so excited I want to be put to sleep until November 1st. (and have someone do all my marathon training for me)

Let me show you a few things I got and although I’ll probably end up returning some of it since things don’t always look the same in person, I’m so excited to see all of them! I’m all about super easy pieces, something that you can just throw on that’s always comfortable and easy to accessorize.

First up: I got an email from Francesca’s today and I was obsessed with the outfit right on the email! I think it will be a great birthday outfit so I ordered the top and skirt but not the necklace.

photo 1

Francesca’s is a little boutique I found out about last summer in Syracuse while shopping for a dress for my friend’s wedding. I had no idea it was a chain store and they finally opened a couple in the city. They have SUCH great accessories and clothes. Here is the link to the top and skirt, in case you’re interested. (I get no credit for any of these links, FYI) I did use the code FEBRUARY14 to save some money! If that doesn’t work, try MARCH14.

I also ordered these loafers that are finally on sale! I have been eyeing them for a couple of months and I snagged them for $20, originally $70.

photo 2

Too cute, right? They have other colors and designs here.

I then went a little nuts on Forever 21. Twice a year I get the big urge to shop here and ONLY online. I absolutely cannot handle the madness of the Times Square, Herald Square or Union Square locations any longer. I actually hate shopping in stores these days. It’s sad what working in retail does to you! Anyways, I could shop on their website all damn day. Here’s what I snagged:

photo 1 (1)

Super basic sandal, pretty much essential. $12.80! Get them here.

photo 2 (1)

I have been searching for an inexpensive pair of these for months. I believe Steve Madden had them and they were close to $100 if not more. Forever has them for $26. Yup. If you haven’t noticed, I’m a huge loafer/oxford fan and the crazier the pattern the better.

jumper (2)This jumper is hopefully going to be another birthday outing outfit, most likely with a leather jacket over it since I’m sure it won’t be in the 70’s in just a few weeks 😉 It’s going to be a great summer night dinner outfit, too!

I’m a tad obsessed with coats and need one (okay, many) for each season. I’m going to see how this one is but I just need a light-weight coat for the first few months of spring since it stays chilly at night here until June.

parka (1)

shortsThese shorts. I can’t even with how cute they are. Really hoping they fit! I also got some accessories like scarves and jewelry. Once they come in I’ll let you know what I keep! When I first order things I want them all to fit and then once they come like almost 2 weeks later I want to return things to get money back, haha. Anyone else feel like that? But anyways, sometimes you just really need to indulge yourself with nice things! After all, we can’t take money with us on the other side. (I don’t think anyways 😉 )

So, Mexico. After the last 2 years of my life that have been downright awful and I still often wonder how I’ve come out on the other side, I knew that this year I wanted to do something big and extravagant and just LIVE. I have truly felt dead for 2 years now, just going through the motions of life and being miserable. No more. What is the PURPOSE of doing that? Of course it’s easy to say that when you are starting to feel alive again, but please know that there were more bad days than good over the course of the last 2 years for me and I had absolutely given up 99% of hope that things would get better. But you see that 1% I held onto of faith and optimism? It was the only thing that got me up in the morning. I forced myself to start doing things that I at least once loved, hoping that the repetition and routine would eventually make me feel whole again. And it did. I’m not sure where along the way that something turned for me, but it did. I went into teaching my spin classes last November with next to no enthusiasm on the inside, but I had to be present and act during each class. Eventually teaching became my savior. It was finally something to look forward to, and to give me something to work towards. Making playlists each week, visualizing the choreography, and imagining my classes working their butts off and making them feel great about themselves. THAT’S WHAT IT WAS AND IS. When you are feeling down, I swear the key is making others feel good. Think about it: when you’re down you probably spend a pretty good amount of time trying to make yourself feel good and sometimes to no avail. What if you channeled that energy into making other people feel good which basically always works? It DOES work. Teaching spin has given me a sense of self again because I’m doing something I love that really means something. Sure, working 7 days a week is a little exhausting but it’s not forever and my classes don’t feel like work at all. Well, they feel like physical work but not exhausting mental work!

One of the best parts of this trip is when we’re going. First of all, we’re going to Costa Rica in the beginning of August for John’s sister wedding but all we have to pay for is the plane ticket. Obviously super stoked to go! I’ve been waiting for years to be able to afford to travel and it’s what I want to save my money for. I’M LITERALLY SO EXCITED I CAN’T STOP DANCING. But we are going on November 4th which is just 2 days after I run the NYC Marathon! What an amazing treat, right? It will give me something to think about during those terrible miles at the end of the marathon when I will be wishing I was dead. And I won’t have to worry about fitting in workouts or anything on vacation because I’ll be taking the week off from exercising other than walking! SO MUCH SLEEP, CANNOT WAIT.

After weeks of shopping and comparing, the resort I kept coming back to was The Westin. Take a deep breath and take a look at these pics. PS- I’ve never been on a tropical vacation, so my excitement level is through the roof.

westin[Source]

westin2[Source]

westin3[Source]

westin4[Source]

Okay I’m literally drooling.

Only 241 days until we leave! Expect a daily countdown and I am NOT sorry. 😉

If you’ve been to Cancun, please tell me all about it!!

How often do you treat yourself with clothes, shoes, etc? What makes you feel good? 

20 thoughts on “Treat. Yo. Self.”

  1. YAY! So excited for you!!! You totally deserve the trip and you will love it. Chris & I went to Mayan Riviera last year – AMAZING. We did drive in to Cancun to go on the Pirate Ship – do it you will love it! So jealous lol but so happy for you! Lisa

  2. We’ve been to cancun and have to say we really enjoyed the little island called isle mujeres most. It’s a 20 min ferry ride from cancun and it’s adorable. We snorkeled in an area that underwater statues. Enjoy and congrats

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. I am so happy for you and I truly know how you feel as I went on vacation for the first time in my adult life back in Jan. of this year and a cruise at that and when I tell you that I was in heaven wow oh wow. So I will be counting down with you. LOL!

    I always look forward to reading your blogs. I hope you have a great weekend 🙂

    1. Hi Jamilla! AWW thank you for your sweet comment!! I’m glad you had an amazing vacation and I can’t wait for mine! Have an amazing weekend 🙂 🙂

  4. Yayyyy sooo excited for you my chiquita!!!! And by “john” you mean allie, right?! So happy for you. You deserve to be the happiest chiquita in this world (tied with me of course). loveeee you and send me that spring jacket, mmmkthanx!! xoxoox Ps, how come you do not want to take a vacation to NH?! WE ARE TROPICAL!

    1. hahaha NH was our 2nd pick, i hear its the most tropical place in the US 😉 😉 So happy we are happy chickies!

  5. Super cute clothes, love the loafers, and ohhhhhhhh I am so happy for you!!! Jealous too, of course. 🙂 so awesome and well-deserved.

    I loved what you said about making yourself do things you used to love and at some point it clicked. I was listening to someone else recently who said sometimes you have to pretend to be someone else … As in, “I’ll pretend to be someone who is healthy (or whatever your change is).” I thought that was interesting because in both cases, the expectation is that at some point it MUST change! You just never know when. 🙂

    1. I love that so much!! It’s just like the saying “fake it til you make it” and not waiting around for motivation because it may never come, you just have to be a go-getter! It’s always worth it 😀

  6. I love shopping online much better than at the stores, sure I can’t see/touch/feel/try on the clothes, but then I don’t have to deal with a lot of people and noise… that’s good enough for me.
    Cancun is great! A lot of energy, tourists being happy and having fun.. you’ll love it. The resort seems so relaxing by the pictures, which is a nice change from the busy downtown area.

  7. Cancun was my first all inclusive trip, we loved it! amazing weather everyday, we did a day trip to chichen itza (my spelling of this is probably wrong) and the island a cheap trip across the water called isle muejeres is AMAZING, the beaches are lovely everywhere it seems.

  8. Just wanted to tell you I found myself at a fro-yo bar today and instead of doing the “oh I really shouldn’t eat this but I want it so I’m going to while feeling guilty the whole time ” bit … I thought of your blog… The message is live a real life. Enjoy it. Make it work for you and be happy. With that I mind I enjoyed every bite . (I also realized I didn’t need the scoops of cookie dough and the extra cookies, etc… So I skipped em.) it was absolutely perfect. Delish too! So thank you! 🙂

    1. This. This makes me so happy. You have to live your life and let little indulgences make you feel GOOD, not bad 🙂 I’m so proud of you! And when you really listen to your body, you figure out that you don’t always want the crazy toppings… but sometimes you do, and that’s okay! I’m so so pumped for you 🙂

  9. I dont normally like buying clothes, but for some reason, have started to buy really bright t shirts to wear when i work out. At least I look happy at gym 🙂 We are holidaying soon, top end of Australa, the great barrier reef. From Melbourne, so still in Oz but 4hrs away by plane.

Leave a Reply

