Another Year.

Well, I’m another year older and probably at least a little wiser 😉 Saturday was my 26th birthday and while it poured rain all weekend, I got to spend the weekend with my mom and my mom’s boyfriends daughter Amanda. I picked them up at Port Authority late Friday night and we went to grab food at Ellen’s Stardust Diner. I have always wanted to go to this place and if you aren’t familiar with it it’s a diner where all the staff are aspiring actors/actresses/performers, so they sing and dance on the tables! It was way cooler than I expected! photo 3(2)

We tried to ignore the rain as we walked around all day on Saturday and shopped our butts off! My poor John was so, so sick all weekend and his birthday was yesterday. He couldn’t even get out of bed let alone walk around in the rain all day. I was supposed to meet Brenda around 6:30 AM for a long run but I was actually scared to leave him alone he was coughing so terribly and in so much pain, so I stayed in bed with him until later in the morning. My heart rate monitor at least made me a cake!  photo 5(1)

Around noon we headed to brunch with Brenda and Eddie to the place we went to after the NYC half a few weekends ago, Philip Marie. I was so obsessed with our service and the atmosphere that I wanted to celebrate my birthday here! The food is also amazing but I think even if it weren’t I would still go there! I got eggs with toast and potatoes, super basic but delicious. That butter was NOT eaten.photo 1(1)  After brunch my mom, Amanda and I headed downtown to check out the 9/11 memorial. I was so glad they wanted to go because of course I’ve wanted to but it’s one of those things that when you live here you just keep putting it off because you take all of the things to do for granted. It was so beautiful and also sad to be there.  photo 3(1)  photo 2  We made our way back up to Times Square to hit up the gigantic Forever 21 and H&M. Let’s just say they have no idea how much I love them for me going to Times Square on a Saturday 😉 It actually was really fun to be a tourist for the day and we ended up getting some great things. I treated myself way too much this whole month, always telling myself it was a birthday present. I have more birthday presents from myself this year than ever in my life combined, haha! shop

Shopping was followed by a ton of pizza at Patsy’s and froyo afterwards. My perfect birthday dinner!

Amanda, mom, and me!
Amanda, mom, and me!

Once we got back to my apartment, we had our own karaoke session of singing old school Backstreet Boys and NSYNC, which was inspiration for this week’s spin playlist. I had one of the most amazing classes ever yesterday morning! Everyone was feelin’ every song and a woman came up to me after class and told me my classes and music gets her higher than heroin! haha Flattered yet also concerned 😉 Sorry I haven’t shared a playlist in awhile, but this one is too good to pass up.  photo  After I taught my Sunday morning class, I came back home with bagels and donuts for John and we napped and watched Arrested Development all day and night. Not the worst way to spend a birthday, but certainly not fun when you are super sick! We are going to have a re-do on our birthdays sometime this week.

How was your last birthday spent?

8 thoughts on “Another Year.”

  1. Happy Birthday!! Sounds like you had a great time, I was in New York in early October (I came from Australia) and went to Ellen’s Stardust Diner as well as the 9/11 memorial and a lot of other places. Also, love the Backstreet Boys!

    1. Thank you!! So cool all the way from Australia! I hope to go there some day 🙂 BSB will be my fav forever!

  2. Your spin classes sound awesome, I would love to take one. A great instructor makes all the difference, and you seem to care about your classes and the members. We used to have one at the gym that would never acknowledge you, even though you took her 5:15 a.m. class every week. She would run on the treadmill first, it took saying good morning a few times with no reply to get the hint, and then my fellow classmates told me she won’t speak to you. In class all she would do was nod and change position, that was your only cue. It was a great class music wise and intensity, but as an instructor she was a little different. I had a good workout so that was all I cared about. Although it wasn’t how I spent my last birthday, my best birthday ever was actually 2 years ago. I turned 49 and I was on vacation in Livingston, Montana and we went for breakfast at the Forty Niner diner to celebrate my 49th birthday. It was one to remember. Enjoy your week!

    1. I cannot even imagine why on earth an instructor would choose to be an instructor- and even get hired- if they ignore their students??!! We are there to make people feel great and have a great workout- but i truly believe the first 1 to be the more important! I love that the diner was called 49er! Diners are my favorite places to eat! 🙂

  3. Glad you had a great bday, and poor John!!! My mud run was done in my I heart NY shirt on Saturday. A man asked if I really loved it and I told him I thought I would when I get there. I’m just lucky enough to have friends that travel and bring me back NYC and Derek Jeter swag 😉

Leave a Reply

