Week Highlights

Happy Saturday! REALLY wish I was outside enjoying the gorgeous weather and not stuck at work. I’m also really over the fact that allergy season has now started, and going from a month of being sick straight into allergies basically feels like I’m just still sick. UGH! I take Zyrtec to ward off some of the symptoms, but it doesn’t seem to be helping much. I read this year will be one of the worst years for allergies in a long time. WHY. Puffy eyes and a dry, flaky nose really just isn’t my best look.

At least this week showed signs of spring. I made it a point to bring actual clothes with me to the gym in the morning even though I’m only in them for the train ride to work and then home. We have REAL ugly uniforms at work (if you know where I work you are probably even more shocked) so I basically never get to wear cute clothes anymore. It sucks and I miss it so much. Speaking of cute clothes, I am a big time hater of jeans but found really great fitting ones at Express. They offer low-rise, mid-rise, and high-rise which is spectacular if you are like me and don’t like the way low-rise jeans fit (more specifically- you don’t like your slight muffin top and butt crack hanging out of your pants). The mid-rise fit is perfect on me and even though I’m 5’7, my height is not at all in my legs so the ankle length fits me like just normal skinny jeans. I don’t have a pic of me in them but they are these. I think they call them a legging because they are stretchy and fit tight but they are definitely heavier like a real jean. Freaking love them and Express jeans have always been my personal favorite! Since I have their credit card, I get coupons all the time and got 4 pairs of those jeans, this top in mint green, and these sunglasses. On top of the coupons, I also had a $40 gift card they sent me for my birthday so I made out super well!

Besides my 2 mile run on Wednesday, no other running this week. Still. I’m telling you, I just can’t find my groove. I taught Spin Monday, Tuesday, Friday morning and this morning so I obviously still got my workouts in but running just keeps taking a back seat. If only I got paid for it πŸ˜‰ Ate some greatness though, of course.

First of all, how adorable is this new glass portable mason jar from David’s Tea? photo 1(1) I’ve been making iced tea with stevia in the early mornings to drink on my way to teach spin so that I’m not drinking so much coffee since having an iced soy latte at work is a non-negotiable. It’s more of a gentle way to wake up, I think!

After a particularly terrible Wednesday, I went to drown my sorrows in froyo at my favorite froyo joint Orange Leaf. They are more expensive than the others, but when you taste it you happily oblige. Plus I had a $3 coupon for my birthday. It was April 2nd and they had eggnog, my absolute favorite flavor of froyo. So that pretty much turned my frown upside down!

photo 4(1)

Last night John took me to a greek place I’ve wanted to try for a late birthday dinner since he was so sick last weekend. While it was a little pricier and the service totally sucked, the food was outrageously good. I ate more french fries than I care to admit and was extremely sick after but that is 100% my fault. The feta was amazing, the kebobs delicious and the jalapeno hummus with pita bread? Best thing ever.

photo 1(2)

photo 2(2)

If you like Greek food, I highly recommend Stix on East 23rd street!

What were your week highlights?

Favorite Greek/Mediterranean dish? I loooove hummus, pita bread, feta, and chicken shawarma so much.

3 thoughts on “Week Highlights”

  1. I know almost nothing about Greek food, but I don’t like tzatziki sauce or any of those strong crumbly cheeses. 😦 Lamb is good, though! My weekly highlight was seeing the Lion King musical.

Leave a Reply

